Skip to Navigation
University of Pittsburgh
Print This Page Print this pages

January 21, 2010

Provost search committee members named

Pitt this week announced the 21-member committee that will conduct the search for the successor to Provost James V. Maher, who is stepping down from that post to return to the faculty after serving as provost since 1994. (See Nov. 12 University Times.)

The search committee is chaired by Randy Juhl, Distinguished Service Professor of Pharmacy and vice chancellor for research conduct and compliance.

B. Jean Ferketish, assistant chancellor and secretary of the Board of Trustees, will serve as committee secretary.

Juhl said the committee will begin meeting soon, and that the position has been announced in national publications including The Chronicle of Higher Education. He hopes that the committee will be able to present its recommendations in time for the chancellor to make the selection by the beginning of the 2010 fall term.

Members of the search committee include:

Elected by the faculty:

• School of Arts and Sciences: Kathleen Dewalt, professor, anthropology; Dennis Looney, associate professor and chair, French and Italian languages and literatures.

• Schools of the Health Sciences: Anna Roman, assistant professor, pathology, and senior vice president of administrative services and physician relations, UPMC Physician Services Division.

• Provost’s Area Professional Schools: Kevin Ashley, law; Carrie Leana, George H. Love Professor of Organizations and Management, business.

• Regional campuses: Jerry Samples, professor, mechanical engineering technology, Pitt-Johnstown.

Appointed by staff and student organizations:

• Staff Association Council: Gwendolyn Watkins, president.

• Student Government Board: Charles Shull, president.

• College of General Studies Cabinet: Rosemary Natale, president.

• Graduate and Professional Students Association: Daniel Jimenez, president.

Appointed by Chancellor Mark Nordenberg:

Livingston Alexander, professor, psychology, and president,  Pitt-Bradford; Dennis Curran, Distinguished Service Professor and Bayer Professor of Chemistry; Larry Davis, Donald M. Henderson Professor and dean, social work; Jacqueline Dunbar-Jacob, professor and dean, nursing; Ferketish;Jere Gallagher, associate professor and associate dean, education;

Roger Hendrix, Distinguished Professor of Biological Sciences; Gerald Holder, professor and U.S. Steel Dean, engineering; Juhl;John Lazo, Allegheny Foundation Professor of Pharmacology, medicine, and Evelyn Rawski, Distinguished University Professor of History.

Leave a Reply