Skip to Navigation
University of Pittsburgh
Print This Page Print this pages

April 1, 2010

Senate election runs April 2-17

Electronic balloting for University Senate officers and new Faculty Assembly members will begin tomorrow, April 2, and run through April 17.

Senate officers will serve one-year terms beginning July 1.

Running for president are Nicholas G. Bircher, associate professor of anesthesiology and critical care medicine, School of Medicine; and Michael R. Pinsky, professor of critical care medicine, bioengineering and anesthesiology, School of Medicine.

(For a discussion of issues by the two presidential candidates, see related story this issue.)

Candidates for vice president are Wesley M. Rohrer, assistant professor, Department of Health Policy and Management, Graduate School of Public Health; and Patricia M. Weiss, reference and information technology librarian, Health Sciences Library System.

Laura A. Fonzi, clinical instructor, Department of Health and Physical Activity, School of Education, is running for secretary unopposed.

Newly elected members to Faculty Assembly serve the first year of their three-year terms on the Assembly; during their second and third years, they serve on both the faculty-only Assembly and on Senate Council, which includes faculty, staff, students and administrators.

The following are candidates for Faculty Assembly. The number of vacancies in each unit is indicated in parentheses.

School of Arts and Sciences

Humanities (2 vacancies): David Bartholomae, English; H. David Brumble III, English; John Lyon, German; Clark Muenzer, German; Francesca Savoia, French and Italian.

Natural Sciences (2): Robert Daley, computer science; Vladimir Savinov, physics and astronomy.

Social Sciences (1): Chris Bonneau, political science.

Professional schools

Education (1): Jere Gallagher.

Engineering (2): William Federspiel; Jeen-Shang Lin; Ron Neufeld.

Graduate School of Public and International Affairs (1): Kevin Kearns.

Social Work (1): William Elliott.

University Library System (1): Danielle Colbert-Lewis; Michael Ford; Robin Kear.

Schools of the Health Sciences

Dental Medicine (1): Steve Wendell.

Health and Rehabilitation Sciences (1): Michael Hahn; Debbie Miller; Thomas Platt.

Health Sciences Library System (1): Linda Hartman; Fran Yarger.

Medicine (3): Leonard Baidoo; Carey Balaban; Anthony Bauer; Adeel Butt; Barbara Gaines; Kevin Ho; Maria Kovacs; Roy Smith; Hussein Tawbi; Ali Zaidi.

Nursing (1): Marilyn Hravnak; Donna Nativio.

Pharmacy (1): Colleen Culley; Tom Nolin.

Public Health (1): Jeanine Buchanich; Emilia Lombardi.

There are no openings this year for new Assembly members from the Katz Graduate School of Business, the School of Law and the School of Information Sciences.

Pitt’s Bradford, Greensburg, Johnstown and Titusville campuses elect their own representatives to Faculty Assembly.

The slate of candidates for the University Senate’s 15 standing committees is being compiled and is expected to be published in a future issue of the University Times.

For more information on the elections, contact the Senate office at 4-6505.

—Peter Hart

Leave a Reply