Skip to Navigation
University of Pittsburgh
Print This Page Print this pages

April 29, 2010

Pinsky re-elected Senate president

pinskyMichael R. Pinsky has been re-elected president of the University Senate. Pinsky is professor of critical care medicine, bioengineering and anesthesiology in the School of Medicine.

Patricia M. Weiss, reference and information technology librarian, Health Sciences Library System, was elected vice president.

Laura A. Fonzi, clinical instructor, Department of Health and Physical Activity, School of Education, was elected secretary.

Officers serve one-year terms beginning July 1.

New Faculty Assembly members also were elected. They are:

School of Arts and Sciences

Humanities: David Bartholomae, English; Francesca Savoia, French and Italian.

Natural sciences: Robert Daley, computer science; Vladimir Savinov, physics and astronomy.

Social sciences: Christopher Bonneau, political science.

Professional schools

Education: Jere Gallagher.

Engineering: Jeen-Shang Lin; Ron Neufeld.

Public and international affairs: Kevin Kearns.

Social work: William Elliott.

University Library System: Robin Kear.

Schools of the Health Sciences

Dental medicine: Steve Wendell.

Health and rehabilitation sciences: Debbie Miller.

Health  Sciences  Library System: Linda Hartman.

Nursing: Marilyn Hravnak.

Medicine: Carey Balaban; Anthony Bauer; Maria Kovacs.

Pharmacy: Colleen Culley.

Public health: Jeanine Buchanich.

There were no openings this year for new Assembly members from the Katz Graduate School of Business, the School of Law or the School of Information Sciences.

Pitt’s Bradford, Greensburg, Johnstown and Titusville campuses elect their own representatives to Faculty Assembly.

Newly elected members to Faculty Assembly serve the first year of their three-year terms on the Assembly; during their second and third years, they serve on both the faculty-only Assembly and on Senate Council, which includes faculty, staff, students and administrators.

Elections for new members of the Senate’s 15 standing committees continue until midnight May 2. Only Faculty Assembly members are eligible to vote. For more information, contact the Senate office at 4-6505.

—Peter Hart

Leave a Reply