Skip to Navigation
University of Pittsburgh
Print This Page Print this pages

March 31, 2011

Pinsky running unopposed for Senate president

Electronic balloting for University Senate officers and new Faculty Assembly members will begin tomorrow, April 1, and run through April 16.


Michael Pinsky

Senate officers will serve one-year terms beginning July 1.

Incumbent president Michael R. Pinsky professor of critical care medicine, bioengineering and anesthesiology at the School of Medicine, is running for re-election unopposed.

Likewise, current vice president Patricia M. Weiss, reference and information technology librarian at the Health Sciences Library System, is running unopposed.

There are two candidates for Senate secretary, incumbent Laura Fonzi, clinical instructor, Department of Health and Physical Activity, School of Education; and Linda Frank, associate professor in the Department of Infectious Diseases and Microbiology, Graduate School of Public Health.

Newly elected members to Faculty Assembly serve the first year of their three-year terms on the Assembly; during their second and third years, they serve on both the faculty-only Assembly and on Senate Council, which includes faculty, staff, students and administrators.

The following are candidates for Faculty Assembly. The number of vacancies in each unit is indicated in parentheses:

School of Arts and Sciences

Humanities (2 vacancies): John Lyon, German; Joshua Lund, Hispanic Languages and Literatures; Neepa Majumdar, English; Anna Nisnevich, Music.

Natural Sciences (1): Don Chiarulli, Computer Science; Anthony Schwacha, Biological Sciences.

Social Sciences (2): David Barker, Political Science; Daniel Berkowitz, Economics; Olivier de Montmollin, Anthropology; Christel Temple, Africana Studies.

Professional schools

Business (1): Kimberly Gleason.

Education (1): James Jacob; Cindy Tananis.

Law (1): Sallie Smith.

Information Sciences (1): Roger Flynn.

Public and International Affairs (1): Clyde Mitchell-Weaver.

Schools of the Health Sciences

Dental Medicine (1): John Close.

Health and Rehabilitation Sciences (1): David Beck; Christopher Bise.

Health Sciences Library System (1): Liping Song.

Public Health (1): Velpandi Ayyavoo; Robert Boudreau; Carol Redmond.

Pharmacy (1): Susan Skledar; Margaret Verrico.

Nursing (1): Michael Neft.

Medicine (3): James T. Becker; Jay Bhama; Gilles Clermont; Kevin Ho; Chyongchiou Jeng Lin; L. Dade Lunsford; Richard McGough.

There are no openings this year for new Assembly members from the Swanson School of Engineering, the School of Social Work or the University Library System.

Pitt’s Bradford, Greensburg, Johnstown and Titusville campuses elect their own representatives to Faculty Assembly.

The slate of candidates for the University Senate’s 15 standing committees is being compiled by the Senate elections committee and is expected to be published in a future issue of the University Times.

For more information on the elections, visit or contact the Senate office at 4-6505.

—Peter Hart

Leave a Reply