Skip to Navigation
University of Pittsburgh
Print This Page Print this pages

June 9, 2011

Walker elected SAC president

The Staff Association Council (SAC) announced the results of officer elections at its monthly meeting yesterday, June 8. Officers serve two-year terms beginning at the conclusion of SAC’s June meeting.

Newly elected officers are:

walker• President — Deborah Walker, who had been serving as chair of the newly formed staff mentoring committee and a member of the program and planning committee. She defeated Libby Hilf, vice president for marketing and communications.  Walker succeeds Gwen Watkins, who did not run for re-election.

• Vice president of steering — incumbent Jon-Paul “J.P.” Matychak, who also serves on the marketing and communications committee. He defeated Rich Colwell, immediate past president of SAC.

• Vice president for marketing and communications — Monika Losagio, who had been serving as vice chair of the salary and job classification committee. She defeated Jesse Nicholson, who chairs the newly formed diversity and inclusion committee and is a member of the governance committee.

• Treasurer — Monica Costlow, who defeated Amy Elliott. Both candidates were serving on the program and planning committee, with Costlow serving as committee chair.

Officers are prohibited from chairing any of the standing committees, but they can opt to be a member of any SAC committees.

Results of the election, which was held electronically for the first time, were announced by Barbara Mowery, chair of SAC’s elections committee. SAC members at the June 8 meeting endorsed the election results unanimously.

—Peter Hart

Leave a Reply