Skip to Navigation
University of Pittsburgh
Print This Page Print this pages

March 22, 2012

People of the Times

The Foundation for Landscape Studies has awarded the 2012 John Brinckerhoff Jackson Book Prize to Kirk Savage, chair of the Department of the History of Art and Architecture, for his book, “Monument Wars: Washington D.C., the National Mall, and the Transformation of the Memorial Landscape.”

The $2,000 prize is awarded to a recent book that has made significant contributions to the understanding of garden history and landscape studies.

In “Monument Wars,” Savage tells the story of the National Mall, its historic plans, its structures and the dramatic shift in national representation through the years. (See May 27, 2010, University Times.)

Two years ago, Savage received the 2010 Charles C. Eldredge Prize from the Smithsonian American Art Museum for “Monument Wars.”


The Staff Association Council has announced its newest associate member: D. Wes Rist, assistant director of the Center for International Legal Education in the School of Law.

New members serve for six months as non-voting associates who sit on one or more of SAC’s standing committees.


webberSteven A. Webber has been awarded the Peter and Ada Rossin Endowed Chair in Pediatric Cardiology. Webber is a faculty member in pediatrics and clinical and translational science in the School of Medicine, chief of the Division of Pediatric Cardiology at Children’s Hospital, co-director of the Heart Institute and medical director of Pediatric Heart and Heart-Lung Transplantation at Children’s.

The Peter and Ada Rossin Endowed Chair in Pediatric Cardiology is a jointly recognized academic chair within the  School of Medicine and Children’s Hospital. The Rossin Foundation focuses its funding on health care and education and is committed to supporting organizations that enhance the lives of people in western Pennsylvania.

David H. Perlmutter, physician-in-chief and scientific director at Children’s and the Vira I. Heinz Professor and Chair of the Department of Pediatrics in the School of Medicine, said: “Dr. Webber’s leadership has helped transform the Heart Institute at Children’s Hospital into one of the pre-eminent centers in the world for the diagnosis and treatment of patients with congenital heart disease, as well as a leading institution in the education of future pediatric cardiologists. This endowed chair speaks to his talents and experience as a clinician, educator and researcher.”

The Heart Institute at Children’s Hospital, led by Webber and Victor Morell, comprises a team of more than 170 professionals who provide a continuum of care for patients with congenital heart disease from fetal diagnosis through adulthood (through its Adult Congenital Heart Disease Center).

Webber’s research focuses on strategies to improve outcomes for children with advanced heart failure, including those who have received heart transplants. He leads a team of researchers performing multi-institutional clinical research to improve the outcomes of pediatric heart transplant recipients with infections, tumors and organ rejection.

His work has been supported by more than $15 million in research grants from the National Institutes of Health.

Webber is a founder and past-president of the International Pediatric Transplant Association. He also is past-president of the Pediatric Heart Transplant Study, a research consortium of more than 30 pediatric heart transplant centers.

He is a past board member of the International Society of Heart and Lung Transplantation and sits on the board of the American Society of Transplantation.

He is the editor-elect of the journal Pediatric Transplantation and incoming chair of the thoracic committee of the United Network for Organ Sharing.


The People of the Times column features recent news on faculty and staff, including awards and other honors, accomplishments and administrative appointments.

We welcome submissions from all areas of the University. Send information via email to:, by fax at 412/624-4579 or by campus mail to 308 Bellefield Hall.

For submission guidelines, visit

Leave a Reply