Skip to Navigation
University of Pittsburgh
Print This Page Print this pages

May 31, 2012

People of the Times

Agnus Berenato, head women’s basketball coach, will receive the Terri L. Chapman Award June 7 from the Pittsburgh affiliate of Susan G. Komen for the Cure.

The award recognizes a person who has worked to save lives and end breast cancer and demonstrated leadership by being a champion of Komen Pittsburgh within the group and the community. Since losing her mother to breast cancer more than 20 years ago, Berenato has promoted the importance of early detection and frequently taken part in the Pittsburgh Race for the Cure.

Pitt Board of Trustees chair and alumnus Stephen R. Tritch has received a 2012 History Maker Award from the Senator John Heinz History Center.

Tritch, the retired chair and CEO of Westinghouse Electric Co., won the award in the Business and Industry category. The History Center presents the honor annually to distinguished Pittsburghers for their exceptional contributions to the history of western Pennsylvania, the nation and the world.

The Allegheny County Board of Health has named Graduate School of Public Health faculty member Ronald Voorhees as its interim director, effective June 6.

A visiting associate professor in the Department of Epidemiology, Voorhees had been the chief of epidemiology at the Allegheny County Health Department since August 2008. He previously served as the deputy state epidemiologist with the New Mexico Department of Health and has lengthy experience in public health in both infectious and chronic diseases.

Voorhees’s current areas of focus include public health surveillance and outbreak detection, community health needs assessment and health impact analysis, with a special focus on the cross-cutting health and social benefits of ensuring safe and nurturing early childhood environments.

Angela F. Ford, executive director of Pitt’s Center for Health Equity, received a 2012 Robinson Award from the Manchester Youth Development Center. The center sponsors arts, cultural, athletic, weekend and summer programs for young people.

Ford was recognized for her work at the Center for Health Equity, where efforts are aimed at understanding and reducing health disparities in underserved populations.

Named after the center’s founders, the Rev. James and Dr. Betty Robinson, the award is based on the nominee’s number of years of involvement in the community, level of demonstrated commitment and passion for youth and support for the center’s mission.

Robert Hill, vice chancellor for Public Affairs, recently received the Leadership Award from the Pittsburgh chapter of the Carson Scholars Fund. The fund was founded in 1994 by Benjamin S. Carson, a Johns Hopkins pediatric neurosurgeon.

The Carson Scholars Fund is dedicated to encouraging students to focus on reading and academics.

The Leadership Award recognizes an adult role model for demonstrating leadership through innovative practices, initiative, creativeness and success.

HoutrowAmy Houtrow, an expert in the care of children with disabilities, has been named chief of the Division of Pediatric Rehabilitation Medicine at Children’s Hospital.

A faculty member in pediatrics and vice chair in the Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation at the School of Medicine, Houtrow focuses her clinical efforts on caring for children with disabling conditions to help maximize their health, function and quality of life.

She will focus on research recognizing the impact on families raising children with disabilities, as well as ways to develop channels to improve service delivery.

HaleyTammy Haley, coordinator of the Bachelor of Science in nursing program at Pitt-Bradford, has received the 2012 Chairs’ Faculty Teaching Award for excellence in teaching.

The chairs of Pitt-Bradford’s five academic divisions reviewed letters of recommendation, student evaluations of teaching, syllabi and grade distributions. They also considered the teachers’ knowledge of subject matter and their advising and dedication in working with students beyond the classroom in such activities as internships and research projects.

FabianTanya Fabian, a faculty member in pharmacy and therapeutics, has been selected by the Pitt Alumni Association as the winner of the 2012 Ivan and Mary Novick Award for Young Alumni Leadership. The award is given annually to an alumnus who graduated in the past 15 years, is age 38 or younger and has demonstrated leadership as a volunteer for the Pitt Alumni Association and/or the University.

Fabian (PharmD ’98, PhD ’03), currently serves as president of the School of Pharmacy Alumni Society board.

Susan B Hansen lg_1The Department of Political Science has established a fund to honor retiring faculty member Susan Hansen for a distinguished career and pathbreaking contributions to the study of women in politics.

Since 1980 Hansen has held an appointment in political science with joint appointments in women’s studies and the Graduate School of Public and International Affairs. She served as program director of women’s studies, 1990-93, and as a member of the Provost’s Advisory Committee on Women’s Concerns, 1992-95.

Hansen was vice president of the University Senate, 2008-10.

She also served as academic dean on the spring 2005 Semester at Sea voyage.

Hansen’s areas of expertise include American politics, economic policy, taxation, state and local politics, women and politics and religion and politics.


The People of the Times column features recent news on faculty and staff, including awards and other honors, accomplishments and administrative appointments.

We welcome submissions from all areas of the University. Send information via email to:, by fax at 412/624-4579 or by campus mail to 308 Bellefield Hall.

For submission guidelines, visit

Leave a Reply