Skip to Navigation
University of Pittsburgh
Print This Page Print this pages

February 7, 2002

Chancellor announces outstanding teachers, researchers

Winners of the 2002 chancellor's awards for distinguished teaching and research were announced by Chancellor Mark Nordenberg at Senate Council this week.

Names of the winners of the chancellor's award for public service were not available as the University Times went to press.

Teaching award recipients are: Donald Goldstein, Graduate School of Public and International Affairs; Walter Orange, Division of Natural Sciences, mathematics, Greensburg cam-pus; Chandralekha Singh, Department of Physics and Astronomy/Faculty of Arts and Sciences (FAS); Susan Harris Smith, English department/ FAS, and Mary Beth Spore, Division of Humanities, English, Greensburg campus.

"The Greensburg campus always seems to fare particularly well in terms of teaching recognition, though I'm not sure that they ever have captured two of the five awards in a single year before," the chancellor commented.

The Chancellor's Distinguished Research Award winners are: Anna C. Balazs, Department of Chemical and Petroleum Engineering/engineering school; Arthur Hellman, School of Law; Johnny Huard, Department of Orthopaedic Surgery, medical school; Linda C. Jen-Jacobson, Department of Biological Sciences/FAS, and Scott G. Nelson, Department of Chemistry/FAS.

The winners of the three faculty awards will be recognized, along with winners of the Chancellor's Distinguished Service Award for University of Pittsburgh Staff Employees, at Pitt's 26th annual honors convocation on Feb. 28.

Each of the faculty awards carries a $2,000 cash prize plus a $3,000 grant for the recipient's work. Winners' names will be inscribed on a bronze plaque in the William Pitt Union.

— Peter Hart & Bruce Steele

Leave a Reply