Skip to Navigation
University of Pittsburgh
Print This Page Print this pages

November 8, 2012

People of the Times

The School of Medicine has announced new members of its Academy of Master Educators. The academy recognizes and rewards excellence in education, strives to advance education through innovation and professional development of faculty, as well as supports and promotes educational scholarship.

During the application process, potential members submit an educational portfolio to the Academy of Master Educators membership committee for review.

The new academy members are:

• Department of Anesthesiology: Shawn T. Beaman; Manuel C. Vallejo Jr.

• Department of Emergency Medicine: Michele L. Dorfsman; Stephanie M. Gonzalez.

• Department of Family Medicine: Donald B. Middleton.

• Department of Medicine: Eric J. Anish; Gregory M. Bump; William P. Follansbee; Rachel J. Givelber; Alda Maria R. Gonzaga; Peggy B. Hasley; Harish Jasti; Michael A. Mathier; R. Harsha Rao; Carla L. Spagnoletti.

• Department of Neurobiology: A. Paula Monaghan-Nichols.

• Department of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Sciences: Gabriella Gray Gosman; Gary Sutkin.

• Department of Ophthalmology: Paul (Kip) R. Kinchington; Evan “Jake” L. Waxman.

• Department of Pathology: Trevor A. Macpherson.

• Department of Pediatrics: Sanjay Lambore; Kishore Vellody.

• Department of Pharmacology and Chemical Biology: Donald B. DeFranco.

• Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation: Brad Dicianno.

• Department of Psychiatry: Michael J. Travis.

• Department of Surgery: Giselle G. Hamad.


Every year since 2000,, a web site that features news on medical imaging, has recognized the best in radiology, identifying the people and technologies that have made an important impact. The annual awards are referred to as “Minnies.”

For the second time, Wendie Berg, Pitt faculty member in radiology, has won the Minnie for the most influential radiology researcher, building on the role she has played in using modalities such as MRI, ultrasound and positron emission mammography.

Berg has served as the principal investigator of the American College of Radiology Imaging Network (ACRIN) trials, examining the use of new modalities in women with dense tissue.

Her article entitled “Detection of Breast Cancer With Addition of Annual Screening Ultrasound or a Single Screening MRI to Mammography in Women With Elevated Breast Cancer Risk,” was recognized as the best scientific paper of the year. It was published in the Journal of the American Medical Association.


The YMCA of Greater Pittsburgh has named winners of the 2012 Racial Justice Award, a tribute to community leaders who promote equality in society.

Two members of the Pitt community were among the winners:

Paula K. Davis, assistant vice chancellor for health sciences diversity. Davis was honored in the health category for a program she implemented on sensitivity to cultural and racial differences in the medical school.

David A. Harris, a faculty member and associate dean for research in the law school. Harris, known nationally for his work on racial profiling, was selected in the legal category.

The awardees will be recognized at a dinner Nov. 14 at the Westin Convention Center Hotel.


Two bioengineering faculty members have been recognized for their outstanding productivity as junior faculty members.

Tracy Cui has been appointed as the Bicentennial Alumni Faculty Fellow for a three-year period.

Lance Davidson has been appointed as the Wellington C. Carl Faculty Fellow, also for a three-year period.


For the 14th year, Pitt’s School of Nursing honored area nurses Nov. 3 with Cameos of Caring Awards. The award program was started in 1999 to celebrate the profession and to help alleviate the shortage of nurses by promoting nursing as a viable and rewarding career choice.

Awardees are from Pitt are:

Irene Kane, RN options coordinator in the school’s Department of Health and Community Systems, won the Nurse Educator Award for Pitt.

Aaron M. Ostrowski, Department of Acute/Tertiary Care, won an Advanced Practice Award.

Judith A. Kaufmann, Department of Health Promotion and Development, won the Nurse Educator Award for Robert Morris University.

Ellen Aaker Reynolds, Department of Health Promotion and Development, won the Advanced Practice Award, representing Children’s Hospital.

Michele Upvall, Department of Health Promotion and Development, won the Nurse Educator Award for Carlow University.


The University Times Research Notes column reports on funding awarded to Pitt researchers as well as findings arising from University research.

We welcome submissions from all areas of the University. Submit information via email to:, by fax to 412/624-4579 or by campus mail to 308 Bellefield Hall.

For submission guidelines, visit

Leave a Reply