Skip to Navigation
University of Pittsburgh
Print This Page Print this pages

June 27, 2002


Joseph Novak, chair of the Pitt's Austrian Nationality Room Committee, has been awarded the Decoration of Honor in Silver for Services to the Republic of Austria.

Deputy Consul General Sigurd Pacher of the Austrian Consulate General in New York City awarded the medal to Novak June 19 in the Austrian Nationality Room, 314 Cathedral of Learning.


Harvey Borovetz has been named chair of the Department of Bioengineering.

A professor in the Department of Bioengineering and the Department of Chemical and Petroleum Engineering in the School of Engineering, Borovetz also holds an appointment in the School of Medicine as the Robert L. Hardesty Professor in the Department of Surgery.

Borovetz succeeds Jerome Schultz, who led Pitt's bioengineering program for 15 years.

Borovetz's research interests are focused on the design and clinical utilization of cardiovascular organ replacements for both adult and pediatric patients. Since 1985, he has led the University's clinical bioengineering program in mechanical circulatory support.


Jeffrey Guterman, associate professor of communications at the Bradford campus, was a member of a faculty team that won an award for a presentation at the 31st annual Communications Faculty/Industry Seminar.

Guterman, who is chairman of communication arts, and his team won the Stephen H. Coltrin Award for Excellence in Communications Education. The seminar was sponsored by the International Radio and Television Society.

Media faculty members from colleges across the United States were split into five teams, with each assigned a major broadcast network — CBS, NBC, ABC, Fox or the WB. The competition involved developing plans for future programming formats to lead each network for the next few years.


The board of directors of UPMC Health System has elected G. Nicholas Beckwith III as its chairman. Beckwith, president and chief executive officer of Beckwith Machinery Company, has been serving as interim chair since the resignation of Richard L. Fischer in April. His term is for one year and can be extended on a year-to-year basis.

There are 63 directors on the board, which is comprised of representatives from Pitt, member hospitals and other community leaders.

Leave a Reply