Skip to Navigation
University of Pittsburgh
Print This Page Print this pages

August 29, 2013

Faculty to elect search committee reps

In accord with University Senate guidelines that call for balance among faculty constituencies in appointing search committee members (see Feb. 23, 2012, University Times), the Senate is seeking to nominate to the chancellor’s search committee one faculty representative from the Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences, one from the provost’s area professional schools, one from the School of Medicine, one from the other Schools of the Health Sciences and one from the regional campuses.

More than 50 faculty members are on the slate of candidates from which five representatives will be chosen.

Faculty may vote only for the candidate from within their school or unit.

Candidates from the Dietrich school are: Barry Ames, political science; Drew Armstrong, history of art and architecture; David Bartholomae, English; Gunduz Caginalp, mathematics; Nancy Condee, Slavic languages and literatures; Steve Husted, economics; Rami Melhem, computer science; Sandra Mitchell, history and philosophy of science; David Snoke, physics and astronomy; Andrew Strathern, anthropology, and Alan Sved, neuroscience.

From the Schools of the Health Sciences: Jeanine Buchanich, public health; Jane Cauley, public health; Rose Constantino, nursing; Joe Costantino, public health; Anthony Delitto, health and rehabilitation sciences; Robert Engelmeier, dental medicine; Linda Frank, public health; Susanne Gollin, public health; Linda Hartman, Health Sciences Library System; Jay Irrgang, health and rehabilitation sciences; Susan Sereika, nursing; Susan Shaiman, health and rehabilitation sciences, and Alexandre Vieira, dental medicine.

From the provost’s area professional schools: Eric Beckman, engineering, Harvey Borovetz, engineering; Cynthia Bradley-King, social work; Diane Denis, business; J. Harry Evans, business; Roger Flynn, information sciences; Carrie Leana, business (who served on the 1995 chancellor search committee); Jeen-Shang Lin, engineering; Steven Little, engineering, Michael Madison, law; Larry Shuman, engineering, and John C. Weidman, education.

From the regional campuses: Paul Adams, Pitt-Greensburg; Jerry Samples, Pitt-Johnstown, and Judith Vollmer, UPG.

From the School of Medicine: James T. Becker, Nick Bircher, Maria Kovacs, Joan Lakoski, Michael Lotze, L. Dade Lunsford, Christine Milcarek, Michael Pinsky, Beth Piraino, John Reilly Jr., Doris Rubio, Simon Watkins and Ora Weisz.

Online voting, which commenced Monday, ends Sept. 10.

—Kimberly K. Barlow

Filed under: Feature,Volume 46 Issue 1

Leave a Reply