Skip to Navigation
University of Pittsburgh
Print This Page Print this pages

March 30, 2000


Beaufort B. Longest Jr., director of the Health Policy Institute (HPI) at the Graduate School of Public Health (GSPH), has received the American College of Healthcare Executives (ACHE) Senior-Level Healthcare Executive Regent's Award for 1999.

Jack Ferko, chair of the ACHE Regent's Award committee. "With his impressive achievements, which are both diversified and myriad, Beaufort Longest is an outstanding member of the ACHE."

The ACHE is an international professional organization dedicated to improving the health status of society by advancing excellence in health care leadership and management. Comprised of some 30,000 health care executives, the ACHE is known for its credentialing and educational programs, its annual Congress on Health Care Management and its publications — the Journal of Healthcare Management and Healthcare Executive.

As a fellow of ACHE, Longest is among the group's highest-ranking members. He was chosen from among 342 eligible members in ACHE's western Pennsylvania region.

Nominees for the ACHE Regent's Award are evaluated on their leadership ability, innovative and creative management, executive capability in developing their own organization and promoting its growth and stature in the community, contributions to the development of others in the healthcare profession, leadership in hospital and health association activities, participation in civic or community activities and projects, participation in university activities and interest in assisting the university in achieving its objectives.

Longest was the founding director of Pitt's HPI in 1980. The institute's mission is to conduct studies and educational programs that help inform decision-makers about important health care issues and options that ultimately influence health in the Pittsburgh region.

Longest has been professor of health services administration and of business administration since 1980. His research on issues concerning health management and policy has generated substantial grant support and has led to the publication of numerous peer-reviewed articles. He has authored eight books, two of which are among the most widely used textbooks in graduate health management and policy programs.


John Yates, R.K. Mellon Professor of Chemistry and Physics, and director of the University Surface Science Center, has been awarded the Linnett Visiting Professorship for 2000 in the Department of Chemistry at Cambridge University. The award is the highest honor the chemistry department can bestow on any foreign scientist, and was established to honor Jack Linnet, who was head of that department and subsequently became vice chancellor of the University. Yates becomes only the seventh recipient of the award. As recipient of this award, Yates will be in residence at Cambridge for several weeks in May during which he will give a public lecture, as well as a specialized course within the chemistry department.


Donald Trump, chief of hematology-oncology and deputy director for clinical oncology at the University of Pittsburgh Cancer Institute and professor of medicine and urology in the medical school, has been elected to a three-year term as secretary-treasurer of the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO).

ASCO is the world's leading professional society representing physicians from 95 countries who treat people with cancer. ASCO's 14,000 members set the standard for patient care worldwide andlead the fight for more effective cancer treatments, increased funding for clinical and translational research and, ultimately, cure for the myriad different cancers that strike 1.2 million Americans every year.

Three Pitt faculty members in the Department of Chemical and Petroleum engineering, are members of a teaching team that will be honored by Carnegie Science Center next month for major contributions in science and technology-related fields.


Robert Ernick, John Murphy and Alan Russell will be honored with the Teacher-College/University Award for Excellence at a ceremony April 4. The Teacher Award recognizes science educators who inspire students and excel in their own scientific pursuits.

Ernick is a pioneer of new instructional methods and is recognized internationally for his research and innovations in teaching. His research addresses high-pressure phase behavior of materials.

Murphy is internationally recognized for his research on workplace health and safety and has led research teams that have made significant contributions to health and safety in potentially hazardous environments.

Russell is chair of chemical and petroleum engineering as well as executive director of the Pittsburgh Tissue Engineering Initiative. His research focuses on the redesign of enzymes for use in extreme environments.


Ron Mattis, associate professor of engineering at the Bradford campus, traveled to Russia this month to work on the project for the U.S. State Department's Office of Nuclear Affairs. Mattis has spent this year in Washington., D.C., as a W.C. Foster Fellows visiting scholar in the Office of Nuclear Affairs Verification and Compliance Bureau.

Mattis is part of a U.S. delegation to Russia working on an international science and technology center project sponsored by the U.S./Russian Federation Working Group III of the Moniz-Ryabaev Commission.


Rolland Paulston, professor emeritus of policy studies in the School of Education, was invited by the University of Oxford's educational studies department to present a two-day workshop on the theory and practice of social cartography, i.e. the mapping of intellectual space. Following the workshop, Paulston presented a paper entitled "Some Implications of the Spatial Turn in Comparative Methodology" at a United Kingdom conference on social research methodology at Oxford.


Robert Weyant, chair of the Department of Dental Public Health in Pitt's School of Dental Medicine, has been named a U.S. Public Health Service primary care policy fellow. He was nominated by the American Association of Public Health Dentistry.

The primary care policy fellowship, created in 1991, brings together a multidisciplinary group of primary health care leaders from around the work to meet and work with top government, congressional and private sector health care officials in Washington, D.C. Participants study primary care policy, education and research in order to become more effective advocates for improving primary health care at all levels of government and the private sector. Sessions on leadership development and media training also are offered to assist fellows with their advocacy.


"Walking Back up Depot Street," a collection of poems by Minnie Bruce Pratt that was published by the University Press, has been named Book of the Year by ForeWord Magazine.

The magazine, a trade publication of the independent publishing system, gives three awards in each of 23 categories. Pratt's book won the gold award in the gay/lesbian category.

Leave a Reply