Skip to Navigation
University of Pittsburgh
Print This Page Print this pages

February 6, 2014

Nordenberg, Cohon share science awards

Chancellor Mark A. Nordenberg and Jared L. Cohon, former president of Carnegie Mellon University, have been named winners of the Chairman’s Award, the highest honor among the annual Carnegie Science Awards.

Carnegie Science Center established the Carnegie Science Awards program in 1997 to recognize and promote outstanding science and technology achievements in western Pennsylvania. The program, which honors awardees in more than 20 categories, is sponsored by Eaton.

Ann Metzger, Henry Buhl Jr. co-director of Carnegie Science Center, said of Nordenberg and Cohon: “These two individuals have had an unparalleled impact on our region’s scientific vitality. As concurrent leaders of two great local universities, President Cohon and Chancellor Nordenberg forged an unprecedented relationship of mutual respect and collaboration, which has helped open the door to a new era of scientific exploration, entrepreneurial strength and academic excellence in Pittsburgh.”

Awardees will be honored at Carnegie Music Hall on May 9.

Other Pitt winners were:

  • Leadership in STEM Education:  Michael T. Lotze, University of Pittsburgh Cancer Institute.
  • Emerging Female Scientist: Peijun Zhang, medicine.
  • Environmental: Xu Liang, engineering.
  • Life Sciences: Angela Gronenborn, medicine.
  • Science Communicator:  Elaine Vitone, Pitt Med magazine.

Pitt honorable mentions were:

  • University / Post-Secondary Educator: Steven Abramowitch, engineering.
  • Start-Up Entrepreneur: William J. Federspiel, McGowan Institute of Regenerative Medicine and engineering.