Skip to Navigation
University of Pittsburgh
Print This Page Print this pages

July 6, 2000

Board of Trustees elects members

Board of Trustees elects members

Pitt's Board of Trustees on June 29 elected term, special and alumni trustees and one emeritus trustee.

Term and alumni trustees have full voting rights. Special and emeritus trustees may vote only on committees.

The board also elected trustees to serve on UPMC Health System and University of Pittsburgh Trust boards.

Frank V. Cahouet, retired Mellon Bank Corp. chairman, president and CEO, was elected a term trustee for the 1998-2002 class. Re-elected as a term trustee for 2000-2004 was Suzanne Broadhurst, director of corporate giving for Eat'n Park Restaurants, Inc.

Re-elected as a special trustee for 1999-2003 was George H. Taber, chairperson emeritus of the UPMC Health System board of directors and retired director of the Richard King Mellon Foundation. Elected as special trustees for 2000-2004 were William S. Dietrich II, chairman of Dietrich Industries, Inc., and John H. Pelusi, president and CEO of Holliday Penoglio Fowler, L.P. C.C. Tung, chairman of Orient Overseas (International) Ltd., was re-elected a special trustee for 2000-2004.

Elected as an alumni trustee for 2000-2004 was Cynthia L. Roth, vice president of patient care services and chief nurse executive at the Forbes Regional Hospital of the West Penn Allegheny Health System.

Allegheny County Executive James C. Roddey was elected an emeritus trustee. Roddey was a Pitt trustee from February 1993 through December 1999. He resigned upon taking office as county executive on Jan. 1 to avoid a possible conflict of interest.

Four trustees left the Pitt board because their terms expired: Paul Lego, Marvin Lieber, Malcolm Prine and Farrell Rubenstein. Each is eligible to be elected an emeritus trustee at a future board meeting.

Elected to the Pitt board's executive committee for one year were Christopher M. Condron, Mellon Bank Corp. president and CEO; John G. Conomikes, chairman of the executive committee of Hearst Argyle Television, Inc.; and Robert G. Lovett, a partner of Reed Smith Shaw & McClay. Re-elected to the executive committee for one year were E. Jeanne Gleason, executive director of the Pennsylvania Rural Arts Alliance; Evans Rose Jr., director and senior partner of Cohen & Grigsby, P.C., and Thomas J. Usher, USX Corp. chairman and CEO.

Re-elected to the University of Pittsburgh Trust board for 2000-2004 were Pelusi and Frank E. Mosier, retired vice chairman of the BP America Advisory Board.

Pitt trustees chairperson J. Wray Connolly was elected as first vice chairperson of the UPMC Health System board. Elected as UPMC Health System directors for the 1999-2002 class were Dietrich and Robert A. Paul, president and CEO of AMPCO-Pittsburgh Corp. Elected for 2000-2003 was William E. Strickland, president and CEO of Bidwell Training Center, Inc.

Re-elected for 2000-2003 were Conomikes; Richard L. Baron, president of the University of Pittsburgh Physicians practice plan; Jeffrey S. Blum, chairman of the tax law group of Klett Lieber Rooney & Schorling, P.C.; Ralph A. Falbo Jr., president of Ralph A. Falbo, Inc., and Mark L. Zeidel, chairperson of the medicine department in Pitt's School of Medicine.

Elected to the UPMC Health System executive committee were Dietrich, Paul and Ralph J. Cappy, Supreme Court of Pennsylvania associate justice. Re-elected were Blum; Connolly; Zeidel; David B. Fawcett Jr., senior partner, Dickie, McCamey & Chilcote; Arthur S. Levine, Pitt senior vice chancellor for Health Sciences and medical school dean; William K. Lieberman, executive vice president of Hilb, Rogal & Hamilton Co. of Pittsburgh, Inc.; Martin G. McGuinn, Mellon Bank chairman and CEO, and Chancellor Mark A. Nordenberg.

Connolly was elected second vice chairperson of the joint board of UPMC Presbyterian and UPMC Shadyside hospitals. Elected as joint board directors for the 1999-2002 class were Falbo and George A. Davidson Jr., chairman of Dominion Resources, Inc. Re-elected for 2000-2003 were Baron and Pitt surgery professor Marshall W. Webster.

Fawcett was elected to the joint board's executive committee. Baron was re-elected.

— Bruce Steele  

Leave a Reply