Skip to Navigation
University of Pittsburgh
Print This Page Print this pages

August 28, 2014

Provost announces distinguished faculty

Provost Patricia Beeson has named 10 faculty members as distinguished professors effective Sept. 1.

The 10 join another named Aug. 1 and two others named to the distinguished rank in fiscal year 2014.

Those who will become distinguished professors next month are:

Mark Gladwin, medicine.

Tao Han, high energy physics.

Jeremy Levy, condensed matter physics.

John Norton, history and philosophy of science.

Joel Schuman, ophthalmology.

Steven Shapiro, medicine.

Andrew Schwartz, neurobiology.

Rocky Tuan, orthopaedic surgery.

Simon Watkins, cell biology.

In addition, Marshall Webster will be named a Distinguished Service Professor of Surgery effective next month.

Clifford Brubaker was named a Distinguished Service Professor of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences in August.

Scott Lephart and Jonas Johnson were named Distinguished Service Professors in FY14.

Filed under: Feature,Volume 47 Issue 1