Skip to Navigation
University of Pittsburgh
Print This Page Print this pages

January 8, 2015

Honors College names its first faculty fellows

The University Honors College (UHC) has named its initial cohort of honors college faculty fellows.

Forty-six faculty members from across the University accepted the new designation. The appointment, renewable for three years, recognizes faculty “who contribute something substantial on a regular basis,” said UHC Dean Edward Stricker, who noted that UHC has no faculty of its own, nor can faculty be appointed to it, and there are no plans to change that.

The designation carries with it no financial compensation. “It’s simply an honor, recognizing them in a public way that people had contributed significantly, and we hope they will continue to do so,” he said.

The 46 have made “substantial contributions” to UHC in the past five years by teaching honors courses, mentoring students in Brackenridge research fellowship projects and Bachelor of Philosophy degree studies, serving on UHC committees or promoting special events such as lectures and panel discussions.

Stricker said the initial cohort “is not an exhaustive list of all faculty to contribute,” nor is it a list of “best” faculty, whatever the measure might be.

Rather, the fellows program recognizes their devotion to UHC and support of its values of academic attainment, intellectual curiosity and generosity of spirit. “I really appreciate what they’re doing,” Stricker said.

“These are good people, in addition to being smart and industrious,” he said. “They’re not only talented and happy to work hard, but generous — they get satisfaction from helping others. Not that they’re simply willing to, they’re happy to,” Stricker said. “I want that to be the honors students, too. I want them to be good people, aware of their responsibility as members of their communities.”

He said the number of faculty fellows will grow, envisioning that eventually 1-2 percent of the University’s approximately 4,000 faculty could be invited.

Stricker envisions new cohorts being named each fall, either by UHC leaders or by a subset of fellows themselves. In addition to gathering at receptions at the University’s annual honors convocation and commencement, a third reception recognizing the fellows would be held early in the fall term, he said.

UHC faculty fellows will serve as ambassadors, encouraging other faculty to get involved with UHC, and advocating for the honors college in their schools and departments. With the designation they may feel even more empowered to speak up on behalf of UHC, the dean said.

Fellows also will be advisers to UHC leadership. Stricker said he envisions faculty meetings once or twice a year, in addition to regularly seeking fellows’ input and recommendations for improving the honors college. “It’s inconceivable that I’m the only one who thinks about these things, or has the correct perspective,” he said.

“Some of the best ideas are going to come from them.”

The following is the first group of University Honors College faculty fellows:

ARTS AND SCIENCES: Tia-Lynn Ashman, biological sciences; Kathleen Allen, anthropology; Gretchen Bender, history of art and architecture; David Birnbaum, Slavic languages and literatures; Paul Bové, English; Jeffrey Brodsky, biological sciences; J. Patrick Card, neuroscience; Ana Paula Carvalho, Hispanic languages and literatures; Frayda Cohen, gender, sexuality and women’s studies; Suzanna M. Crage, sociology; Karen Curto, biological sciences; Joshua M. Ellenbogen, history of art and architecture; Paul Floreancig, chemistry; Michael Glass, urban studies; Michael E. Goodhart, political science; Janelle Greenberg, history; William Harbert, geology and planetary sciences; Adriana Helbig, music; Steven Husted, economics; Jana Iverson, psychology; Lewis A. Jacobson, biological sciences; Delanie Jenkins, studio arts; Charles Jones, geology and planetary sciences; Adam Leibovich, physics and astronomy; Andrew Lotz, political science; James Maher, physics and astronomy; Adrian Michael, chemistry; Clark Muenzer, German; Nancy Pfenning, statistics; Jeffrey Schwartz, anthropology; Cynthia Skrzycki, English; Alan Sved, neuroscience; Natasha Tokowicz, psychology; Werner Troesken, economics.

BUSINESS: Audrey Murrell, business administration.

ENGINEERING: Harvey Borovetz, bioengineering; Steven Little, chemical engineering; George Stetten, bioengineering.

GSPIA: Muge Finkel, international development; Lisa Nelson.

MEDICINE: Judy Cameron, psychiatry; Teresa Hastings, neurobiology; Amy Wagner, physical medicine and rehabilitation.


SHRS: Ellen Cohn.

SOCIAL WORK: Cynthia Bradley-King.

—Kimberly K. Barlow

Filed under: Feature,Volume 47 Issue 9