Skip to Navigation
University of Pittsburgh
Print This Page Print this pages

July 23, 1998


Jasbir Kang, assistant professor in clinical psychiatry at Pitt's medical school and medical director of UPMC Beaver Valley Mental Health Services, received the 1998 Exemplary Psychiatrist Award from the National Alliance for the Mentally Ill.

Only psychiatrists who have contributed to greater public understanding of brain disorders or who work publicly to eliminate stigma or fight discrimination policies toward people with brain disorders are considered for the award.


Linda A. Goldstein has been named associate director of UPMC's Center for Injury Research and Control (CIRCL). CIRCL conducts injury control research, disseminates information on injuries, and provides training for health care professionals and information for public and community leaders on injury control measures.

Prior to coming to UPMC, Goldstein was a senior research associate and then program manager for the Kentucky Injury Prevention and Research Center at the University of Kentucky Medical Center in Lexington. She earned her B.S. in psychology in 1985 from Penn State and her Ph.D. in neuroscience and psychology from Indiana University in 1993.


Second-year medical students annually honor faculty members with the Excellence in Education award. The student-sponsored award is given in recognition of extraordinary commitment to teaching in the School of Medicine's second-year curriculum. Course directors honored this year were Allen Humphrey, Jamie Johnston and James Shaver; honored lecturers were Georgia Duker, Jamie Johnston, Greg Naus, Kanchan Rao and Daniel Simons; problem-based learning facilitators honored were Lee Beerman, Jenifer Lee, James Mills, Chester Oddis, Thomas Painter, James Shaver, Roger Simon, Anthony Vagnucci and Mark Zeidel.


Scott Lephart, director of Pitt's Neuromuscular Research Laboratory and the Graduate Sports Medicine Program, won the inaugural Kevin P. Speer, M.D., New Investigator Award from the National Athletic Trainers Association (NATA). Lephart received the award, which carries a $2,000 cash prize and a medal, at the NATA annual meeting held in Baltimore last month. He is an athletics trainer/sports medicine researcher in the Department of Health, Physical and Recreation Education, School of Education.

Leave a Reply