Skip to Navigation
University of Pittsburgh
Print This Page Print this pages

April 30, 2015

UPG’s Wilson wins Senate presidency


Frank Wilson

A regional campus faculty member will preside over the University Senate for the first time in the organization’s history.

Frank Wilson, faculty member in administration of justice at Pitt-Greensburg, won the Senate presidency in the recently concluded election.

Irene Frieze, a faculty member in the Department of Psychology, was re-elected as vice president, while Susan Skledar, a faculty member in the Department of Pharmacy and Therapeutics who ran unopposed, was re-elected as secretary.

Frieze also served as Senate vice president 2003-05 and as president 2005-06.

The officers’ one-year terms begin July 1.


Newly elected members serve the first year of their three-year terms on the Assembly. After that, they work on both the faculty-only Assembly and on Senate Council.

The following members were elected to Faculty Assembly:

Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences

Humanities: Clark Muenzer, German.

Natural Sciences: Russell Clark and Eric Swanson, both of physics and astronomy.

Social sciences: Kristin Kanthak, political science; Luca Rigotti, economics.

Professional schools

Business: Jay Sukits.

Education: W. James Jacob.

Engineering: Patrick Loughlin.

Information sciences: Paul Munro.

Law: Ben Bratman.

Public and international affairs: Lisa Nelson.

Social work: Elizabeth (Beth) Mulvaney.

University Library System: Clare Withers.

Schools of the Health Sciences

Public health: Wes Rohrer.

Medicine: Kelly Stefano Cole; Jim Dewar; Karen Norris.


Electronic voting for members of the Senate’s standing committees continues through 11:59 p.m. May 11 on