Skip to Navigation
University of Pittsburgh
Print This Page Print this pages

May 14, 2015

Members elected to Senate committees

The following faculty members were elected this month to the University Senate’s standing committees for three-year terms, except as noted:

• Athletics: Katelyn Fleishman Allison, School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences (SHRS); Jacques Bromberg, classics, Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences (A&S); Carma Sprowls-Repchek, School of Education.

• Benefits and welfare: Balasubramani Goundappa, Graduate School of Public Health (GSPH); Mike Modo, School of Medicine; John Pierce, SHRS.

• Budget policies: Cindy Tananis, education; Wes Rohrer, GSPH; David Rowe, GSPH.

• Bylaws and procedures: James Cassaro, University Library System (ULS); Lenore Thomas, studio arts, A&S; Peg Verrico, School of Pharmacy.

• Community relations: Linda Hartman, Health Sciences Library System (HSLS); Andrea Kriska, GSPH; Deborah Studen-Pavlovich, School of Dental Medicine.

• Computer usage: Vincent Arena, GSPH; Isabelle Wilkins, medicine; Fran Yarger, HSLS.

• Educational policies: Michael Beach, School of Nursing; Leslie Eibl, ULS; Douglas Landsittel, medicine.

• Equity, inclusion & anti-discrimination advocacy: Ellen Ansell, education; Claude Mauk, linguistics, A&S; Amber Pabon, education.

• Governmental relations: Paul Adams, political science, Pitt-Greensburg; Bob Boudreau, GSPH; Denise Chisholm, SHRS.

• Library: Clark Muenzer, German, A&S; Mary Rauktis, School of Social Work; Susan Sesack, neuroscience, A&S.

• Plant utilization and planning: Kathleen Kelly, SHRS; Paul Munro, School of Information Sciences; Pat Weiss, HSLS.

• Research: Eileen Chasens, nursing (2-year term); Steven Dytman, physics and astronomy, A&S (1-year term); Kirk Erickson, psychology, A&S (3-year term); Michael Goodhart, political science, A&S (3-year term); Lindsay Matsumura, education (2-year term); Rami Melhem, computer science, A&S (2-year term); Penny Morel, medicine (1-year term); Patrick Smolinski, Swanson School of Engineering (3-year term); Alex Vieira, dental medicine (1-year term).

• Tenure and academic freedom: Maria Kovacs, medicine; Karen Norris, medicine; Seth Weinberg, dental medicine.