Skip to Navigation
University of Pittsburgh
Print This Page Print this pages

March 28, 1996


James D. Luketich has joined the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center as assistant professor of surgery in the division of cardiothoracic surgery. He also has been appointed co-director of the University of Pittsburgh Cancer Institute's Lung Cancer Center and is director of the thoracic oncology program. His clinical interest includes the multidisciplinary treatment (combined chemotherapy, radiation and surgery) of lung and esophageal cancer and the use of endoscopic, or minimally invasive, surgery to treat early stage lung cancer.


Ann Dugan, director of the Small Business Development Center of the Katz Graduate School of Business, was elected to the Board of Directors of the Greater Pittsburgh Commission for Women.


Alexander M. Minno, an internal medicine and rheuma-tology specialist at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center, was presented with the Nathaniel Bedford Award by the Allegheny County Medical Society (ACMS). The award, given by the ACMS since 1975, honors physicians who have demonstrated long-term dedication to the physical and psychological needs of patients.


Several University of Pittsburgh Medical Center physicians are included among the best physicians in the nation, according to two magazine surveys. In the March issue of Good Housekeeping magazine those listed are: Arthur Feldman, chief of the division of cardiology and the Harry S. Tack professor of medicine; Bartley P. Griffith, professor of surgery and chief of the division of cardiothoracic surgery, and L. Dade Lunsford, professor and interim chairperson of neurological surgery and professor of radiation oncology. In the March issue of American Health magazine, those listed as among the best include: Eugene N. Myers, professor and chairperson of otolaryngology; Jonas T. Johnson, professor of otolaryngology and radiation oncology; Thomas A. Medsger Jr., professor of medicine; Charles Reynolds III, professor of psychiatry and neurology; Bartley P. Griffith, cardiotho-racic surgery; Thomas Starzl, professor of surgery and director of the Transplantation Institute.


Leon L. Haley, vice chancellor for Student and Public Affairs, received the 1996 KDKA Lift Up Award for lifetime achievement. Prior to assuming his administrative position with the University in 1994, Haley served as the president and chief executive officer of the Urban League of Pittsburgh from 1985 to 1994.

He serves as a member of the boards of directors of Integra Bank, Operation Better Block, the Boy Scouts of Southwestern Pennsylvania, the Pittsburgh History and Landmarks Foundation and St. Francis Hospital. In addition, he is a member of the Pennsylvania Economic Development Financing Authority, Southwestern Pennsylvania Regional Growth Committee and the Governor's Advisory Commission on African American Affairs.

Haley earned his bachelor's and doctoral degrees in political science at Pitt, and his master's in political science at Boston University.


Arlene Taylor, associate professor of library science, was the recipient of the Margaret Mann Citation of 1996. The award is presented to a cataloger or classifier for outstanding professional achievement through publication, participation in professional cataloging associations, or valuable contributions to practice in individual libraries.


Jon J.P. Warner, assistant professor of orthopaedic surgery, director of the shoulder service at Pitt's Center for Sports Medicine and head of the shoulder research team at Pitt's Musculoskeletal Research Center, won the 1996 Young Investigator Kappa Delta Award of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons.

Warner was recognized for his research leading to better understanding of normal shoulder function and shoulder instability. This is the first time in its 30-year history that this prestigious award was given for shoulder research.

Warner and his research team were honored for developing a dynamic shoulder model, the Pittsburgh Dynamic Shoulder Testing Apparatus, which enables them to simulate motion and stability and thus examine the effects of injuries to the ligaments and tendons around the shoulder. Co-investigators for the project were Richard E. Debski and Freddie H. Fu.

Leave a Reply