Skip to Navigation
University of Pittsburgh
Print This Page Print this pages

May 26, 2016

Senate service



Dental medicine faculty member Seth Weinberg, center, is the recipient of the 2016 University Senate Service Award.

University Senate President Frank Wilson, left, and Chancellor Patrick Gallagher presented Weinberg with the award during Senate Council’s May 18 session.

The award, established in 1999, is presented each year for “outstanding contributions to the University of Pittsburgh through service in the University Senate.”

In presenting the award, Wilson characterized Weinberg as “young, smart and creating his own record of important work in service to our University.”

Weinberg is a member of Faculty Assembly and Senate Council, serves on the Senate tenure and academic freedom committee and on the ad hoc committee on non-tenure-stream faculty issues. He took the lead in organizing this year’s University Senate plenary session on academic freedom and the associated events that preceded the March 30 session.

Weinberg recently was named to the Senate’s special committee on diversity and inclusion and core values.

Leave a Reply