Skip to Navigation
University of Pittsburgh
Print This Page Print this pages

June 6, 1996


At the Oncology Nursing Society's 21st Annual Congress held last month in Philadelphia, co-authors Karen Robinson, Elaine Kimmel, and Joyce Yasko were awarded the ONS/Chiron Therapeutics Susan Baird Excellence in Writing Award in Clinical Practice. The award is given to recognize achievement in the field of oncology nursing literature, to promote the exchange of expertise, to stimulate the scholarly presentation of nursing research, and to increase the visibility of oncology nursing as a specialty. It is named in honor of Susan Baird, an oncology nursing pioneer.

Robinson is the clinical director of Cancer Control/Community Outreach Services at the University of Pittsburgh Cancer Institute. She earned a B.S.N at Penn State, an M.N. from Pitt, and an M.P.M. from Carnegie Mellon University.

Kimmel is an oncology clinical nurse specialist at the University of Pittsburgh Cancer Institute. She received a B.S.N. from Indiana University of Pennsylvania, and an M.S.N. from Pitt.

Yasko is an associate director of clinical programs administration and professor in Pitt's School of Nursing. She received a B.S.N. from West Virginia University, and both an M.N.Ed. and a Ph.D. from Pitt.


The Johnstown campus Women's Association recently announced its new officers. Beverly Hunter was installed as president, Shelly Bock as vice president, Doris Brown as recording secretary, Clea Hollis as corresponding secretary and Carolyn Thompson as treasurer. Irene Ulery and Beth Clare were installed as historians, while Zoraida Duca was named an ex-officio member.

Members of the board include: Jean James, Gretchel Tyson, Heather Brice, Lori Kilpatrick, Bock, Barbara McDannell, Marie Ulsh, Joyce Davis, Lisa Rountree, Janet Grady, Nancy Grove, Betsy Goenner, Dianna Van Blerkom, and Jeanne Susko.


Seven faculty members at the Johnstown campus have been awarded grants under a University program designed to encourage and reward the research and scholarly activity of faculty.

The grants, totaling $13,445, were awarded to Stephen Kilpatrick, biology; Boris Kushner, mathematics; Kamal Verma, English; Reinhard Heinisch, political science; Catherine Cox, English; and Timothy Meyer, computer science. Kilpatrick also received a research expense grant, while a curriculum enhancement grant was awarded to Neil Woffinden, biology.


Gretchel Tyson, director of the Johnstown campus's Personal Counseling Center, recently received the 1996 Mae Carvell Award from the Venture Club of Johnstown and the Somerset Trust. The award recognizes the accomplishments of women contributing to the advancement of women's status in the local area. Donation were made on behalf of Tyson to the "I Dream a World" Program and the Clara Barton Forum.

Tyson, who had been with UPJ since 1989, received a B.A. from Manhattanville (N.Y.) College, a master of arts from Yeshiva University, and a doctorate from Pitt.


Sam Zacharias and Michael Bryson have been elected Pitt Alumni Association vice presidents, Brian Generalovich has been elected treasurer, and Eva Blum has been elected secretary.

Zacharias is a 1964 College of Arts and Sciences graduate. Bryson also graduated from CAS, in 1968, winning Pitt's Omicron Delta Kappa for academic achievement and leadership. A 1966 CAS graduate, Generalovich also earned a degree from Pitt's School of Dental Medicine.


Blum, a member of the American, Pennsylvania and Allegheny County Bar Associations, received her B.A. and law degrees from Pitt.


Diane Davis has been appointed director of the Center for Instructional Development and Distance Education. She has been serving as the interim director of CIDDE for the past year. Davis received her Ph.D. at Pitt in 1979, in a program of curriculum design and instructional development. She has served as director for the University External Studies Program, Pitt's first distance education program. She also has taught graduate courses in curriculum development.


The School of Law has appointed Christine Miller as the school's director of Career Planning and Placement. Miller, who earned her J.D. at William Mitchell College of Law in St. Paul, Minn., completed her last year of legal study at Pitt.

In 1986, Miller founded Legal Resources for Women, a program affiliated with the YWCA of Greater Pittsburgh. As director, she recruited Pittsburgh-area lawyers to provide legal counseling, hotline information, lawyer referral, and lectures to the organization's 1,300 clients.

Most recently, Miller served as executive director of the Women's Bar Association of Western Pennsylvania, providing consulting services on member recruitment, public relations, fundraising, and mentoring. In 1994 she received that organization's Susan B. Anthony Award for her efforts to improve the role of women in the legal system.


E. Maxine Bruhns, director of the Nationality Rooms and intercultural exchange programs, has been elected to the board of the Pittsburgh Council for International Visitors.

Leave a Reply