Skip to Navigation
University of Pittsburgh
Print This Page Print this pages

September 15, 2016

People of the Times

School of Social work faculty member Sara Goodkind will receive the inaugural Deborah Harding Women of Achievement Award from the National Peace Corps Association Sept. 23 at the group’s annual conference in Washington, D.C.

The award honors a Peace Corps volunteer whose contributions have made a significant difference in the lives of women and girls in the world.

Liberian President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf will present the award in recognition of Goodkind’s work as founder of Girls Leading Our World (GLOW) Camps, now implemented in Peace Corps countries worldwide.


Lynn Emanuel

Lynn Emanuel

The Academy of American Poets has awarded Pitt English faculty member Lynn Emanuel the Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize.

The honor recognizes the most outstanding book of poetry published in the United States in the previous calendar year and carries a $25,000 award.

The prize was awarded for Emanuel’s fifth and most recent book of poetry, “The Nerve of It: Poems New and Selected.”

Emanuel teaches poetry and is the director of the Pittsburgh Contemporary Writers Series, which she founded in 1999.

Established in 1975, the Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize is named for the noted essayist, novelist, poet and political activist.


Joel Marchewka has joined the Health Sciences Library System as a web application programmer in digital library services. He most recently was a web experience specialist at the Carnegie Museum of Natural History.


Joel Coggins, design and production editor at the University of Pittsburgh Press, has received an Association of American University Presses (AAUP) residency grant.

The grant program, supported by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, encourages professional development of scholarly publishing staff through intensive, hands-on residencies at hosting member presses.

AAUP Mellon residents spend up to five days immersed with skill-specific experts and innovators at the host presses. Coggins, one of eight 2016 residency grant recipients, will visit Columbia University Press to observe design and production workflows.

The association promotes the work and influence of university presses, provides cooperative marketing opportunities and helps its 142 member presses fulfill their commitments to scholarship and the dissemination of knowledge.


Kaleab Abebe

Kaleab Abebe

Kaleab Abebe, faculty member in the School of Medicine’s Division of General Internal Medicine, has been appointed to the advisory panel on clinical trials for the Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute (PCORI).

The panel advises PCORI on issues pertaining to research design, implementation and technical issues of clinical trials for patient-centered outcomes research. PCORI helps people make informed health care decisions and improves health care delivery and outcomes by producing and promoting high-integrity, evidence-based information that comes from research guided by patients, caregivers and the broader health care community.

In addition to his appointment in the School of Medicine, Abebe is a faculty member in biostatistics in the Graduate School of Public Health and director of the Center for Clinical Trials and Data Coordination.


Rena Robinson

Renã Robinson

Renã A. S. Robinson, a chemistry faculty member in the Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences, has been selected as one of the “Talented 12” by Chemical and Engineering News.

The Talented 12 are innovative researchers age 42 or younger who are pushing the boundaries in their fields. C&E News cited Robinson’s work in the chemistry of aging and neurodegenerative diseases, particularly Alzheimer’s disease. Robinson hopes to discover whether changes outside the brain precede, or are a response to, changes in the brain.


Pitt-Bradford accounting faculty member Ernest Kallenbach will receive the Bradford campus alumni association’s Teaching Excellence Award Oct. 1 as part of the association’s alumni awards dinner and Athletic Hall of Fame induction.

Kallenbach, formerly the controller for St. Bonaventure University in Allegany, New York, has taught accounting at Pitt-Bradford for eight years. He oversees the Volunteer Income Tax Assistance program through which students prepare taxes at no cost to lower-income individuals and families.

He also is a member of the Pitt-Bradford Faculty Senate.

—Compiled by K. Barlow





The People of the Times column features recent news on faculty and staff, including awards and other honors, accomplishments and administrative appointments.

We welcome submissions from all areas of the University. Send information via email to:, by fax at 412-624-4579 or by campus mail to 308 Bellefield Hall.

For submission guidelines, visit guidelines.


Leave a Reply