Skip to Navigation
University of Pittsburgh
Print This Page Print this pages

June 8, 2006

McNeil, Russell earn faculty honors

Pitt has honored two faculty members, one as distinguished service professor and one as University professor.

Malcolm R. McNeil was named Distinguished Service Professor of Communication Science and Disorders and Alan J. Russell was named University Professor of Surgery. The appointments became effective June 1.

The rank of distinguished service professor recognizes distinctive contributions and outstanding service to the University community in support of its multifaceted teaching/research/service mission. The title of University professor is given in recognition of eminence in several fields of study, transcending accomplishment in, and contributions to, a single discipline.

At Pitt since 1992, McNeil is professor and chair of the Department of Communication Science and Disorders in the School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences (SHRS) and an adjunct professor of otolaryngology in the School of Medicine. He also is a senior research scientist in the Veterans’ Affairs Pittsburgh Healthcare System’s Speech Pathology and Audiology Service, as well as co-founder and co-director of the Pittsburgh Aphasia Treatment, Research and Education Center.

McNeil’s primary research is in the area of motor speech disorders.

Russell is a professor of surgery in the School of Medicine, of bioengineering and chemical engineering in the School of Engineering, and of rehabilitation science and technology in SHRS. He also serves as director of the University’s McGowan Institute for Regenerative Medicine, executive director of the Pittsburgh Tissue Engineering Initiative and director of the National Tissue Engineering Center.

Among Russell’s honors are the R&D 100 Award; the American Cyanamid Research Award, and the Carnegie Science Center Award for Excellence in Science and Technology.

He joined Pitt as an assistant professor in the Department of Chemical and Petroleum Engineering in 1989 and served as department chair from 1995 to 2001. In 1995, he became Nickolas A. DeCecco Professor.

Leave a Reply