Skip to Navigation
University of Pittsburgh
Print This Page Print this pages

December 8, 1994


Four new officers of the Pitt-Bradford Alumni Association were installed recently. The officers are alumni association president Trish Rall, a retired mental retardation professional; vice president Dino L. Cherry, a registered representative with The Prudential in Bradford; secretary Sherri L. Bowman, program director and resident camp director at the Sarah Heinz House in Pittsburgh, and treasurer Ami L. Fitzsimmons, an accounting technician at the Federal Correctional Institute in McKean County.

Pitt researchers are among those who have received 1994-95 research funds from the American Heart Association (AHA) national and Pennsylvania affiliates.

Research funds from the AHA's National Center in Dallas have been awarded to 20 Pittsburgh area researchers, seven of them from Pitt: Ian J. Reynolds, grant-in-aid and established investigatorship; Suzanne T. Ildstand, grant-in-aid; Pedro J. del Nido, grant-in-aid; Kim S. Tyrrell, established investigator-ship; Todd R. Evans, grant-in-aid; Susan S. Albrecht, grant-in-aid, and Joseph Conigliaro, grant-in-aid.

AHA's Pennsylvania affiliate has awarded funds to eight Pitt researchers: Robert Clark, fellowship; Si Mai Pham, grant-in-aid beginning; Jennifer Graham, student award; Guy Salama, grant-in-aid standard; James M. Hagberg, grant-in-aid standard; Bruce A. Johnson, grant-in-aid beginning; Paul Davies, grant-in-aid standard, and Michael Worsey, fellowship.

Leanne Yunetz has been promoted to assistant director of Admissions and Student Aid at the Johnstown campus. Her duties include assisting with the student aid application and award process, counseling students, and presenting programs in area high schools.

The Association for Investment Management and Research has announced that Rick Nelson, a Bradford campus associate professor of business management and chairperson of the business management program and department, has completed the exam requirements to earn the Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) designation.

Nelson, one of the 1,891 investment professionals to pass the exam, has been a member of the Pitt-Bradford faculty since 1985.

Davis B. Bobrow, dean of the Graduate School of Public and International Affairs, has been elected president of the National Association of Schools of Public Affairs and Administration.

NASPAA is a professional association of 225 colleges and universities across the country, headquartered in Washington, D.C., and concerned with national policy and education in public affairs and administration.

The U.S. Department of Education's Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services has awarded a three-year, $525,000 research and program development grant to Stephen J. Bagnato for "The Child Health Resources Partnership: Project CHILD — Collaborative Health Interventions for Learners With Disabilities." The project is a collaboration between families in the Pittsburgh City Schools, Children's Hospital, Western Psychiatric Institute and Clinic, selected early intervention programs in Allegheny County and primary care pediatricians and family practitioners.

Bagnato is coordinator of both the Early Childhood Diagnostic Services and Developmental Neuropsychology Services programs of the Child Development Unit at Children's Hospital as well as an associate professor of pediatrics and psychology at Pitt's School of Medicine. Katherine Detre, professor of epidemiology and director of the epidemiology data coordinating center at the Graduate School of Public Health, has been appointed to the 12-member advisory board of the John E. Fogarty International Center for Advanced Study in the Health Sciences. The Fogarty center is the international arm of the National Institutes of Health and supports international research cooperation through a variety of funding mechanisms.

Lauren Resnick, director of the Learning Research and Development Center and professor of psychology, and the late Anne Levenson, associate dean of the College of General Studies, were two of eight women recently named as 1994 Distinguished Daughters of Pennsylvania.

Inductees are nominated by various Pennsylvania organizations in recognition of their statewide or national accomplishments.

Linda Jen-Jacobson of the biological sciences department has been appointed to the Molecular and Cellular Biophysics Study Section, Division of Research Grants, of the National Institutes of Health. During her four-year term, Jen-Jacobson will review and recommend grant applications submitted to the NIH and keep track of the latest innovations in molecular and cellular biophysics.

Jen-Jacobson was chosen for her achievements in molecular and cellular biophysics, the quality of her research, her publications in scientific journals, and her active involvement in her field.

Leave a Reply