Skip to Navigation
University of Pittsburgh
Print This Page Print this pages

July 8, 2004

Trustees Elect Members

Pitt’s Board of Trustees elected new members and re-elected others at its June 25 spring meeting.

Approved as new trustees were: Eva Tansky Blum, senior vice president and director of community development and fair lending for PNC Bank; Melissa A. Hart (R-4th), member of the U.S. House of Representatives; Robert A. Paul, president, chief executive officer and director of Ampco-Pittsburgh Corp., and Robert P. Randall, president and chief executive officer of the Three Rivers Aluminum Company (TRACO).

Blum was elected as an alumni trustee; Paul was elected as a term trustee, and Hart and Randall are special trustees. Blum also was elected to a one-year term on the board’s executive committee, along with Thomas H. O’Brien, chairman of the executive committee of PNC Financial Services Group.

D. Michael Fisher, judge of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit, was elected to serve as an emeritus trustee.

In addition, L.B. Foster Company Board chair Lee B. Foster II and Pa. Rep. Dan B. Frankel (D-23rd) have been named commonwealth trustees. Foster was appointed by John M. Perzel, speaker of the State House of Representatives. Frankel was appointed by Gov. Edward G. Rendell.

Board of Trustees chairperson Ralph J. Cappy, chief justice of the Pennsylvania Supreme Court, and vice chairpersons Thomas G. Bigley and Suzanne W. Broadhurst were re-elected to one-year terms in their respective positions. Bigley is retired managing partner of Ernst & Young and Broadhurst is interim president of the Carnegie Museums of Pittsburgh.

Re-elected as board members were: (term trustees) Steven C. Beering, president emeritus of Purdue University; Broadhurst; George L. Miles Jr., president and chief executive officer of WQED Pittsburgh, and Dick Thornburgh, former governor of Pennsylvania and former U.S. attorney general; and (special trustees) Catherine D. DeAngelis, editor in chief, Journal of the American Medical Association, and Frederick W. Hill, executive vice president, J.P. Morgan Chase and Company.

Re-elected as members of the board’s executive committee were: J.W. Connolly, retired senior vice president, H.J. Heinz Co.; John H. Pelusi Jr., executive managing director and managing member, Holliday Fenoglio Fowler, L.P.; Evans Rose Jr., director and senior partner, Cohen & Grigsby, P.C., and William E. Strickland Jr., president and CEO of Manchester Bidwell Corp.

Pitt’s board also endorsed an amendment to its by-laws naming the chief executive of Allegheny County, currently Dan Onorato, to serve as an ex-officio, nonvoting member of the board.

-Peter Hart

Leave a Reply