Skip to Navigation
University of Pittsburgh
Print This Page Print this pages

September 30, 2004

UPT Search Committee Named

The search committee for the successor to Pitt-Titusville President Michael A. Worman has been named by Provost James V. Maher.

Worman announced this past summer he was stepping down as Titusville’s leader after 16 years, effective Aug. 31, 2005.

Maher named Andrew R. Blair, vice provost for faculty affairs, as search committee chairperson. “This will be a national search,” Blair said. “We want to find a worthy successor to a fine president that Dr. Worman has been.”

Titusville is an associate’s degree-granting institution with a number of certificate programs that target people who have degree status, he noted.

“Since there are a number of disciplines represented across the curriculum, it presents a challenge to find a person well-prepared to handle that environment.

We’ll be working closely with the search firm of R.H. Perry & Associates to work out details of the job description.”

The committee is expected to be charged formally by Provost Maher this week. “I expect he will ask us for at least four well-qualified unranked candidates,” Blair said.

Blair said the position will be advertised in The Chronicle of Higher Education and similar outlets.

UPT faculty members on the committee are: Erica Altomare, Melanie O. Anderson, Phillip D. Atteberry, Christopher J. Coat, Herbert W. Kitson, James R. Messmer and Richard P. Mulcahy. Lena M. Parks is serving as the UPT student representative; Tamara Rothschild, an alumna and campus advisory board representative, will represent the campus’s alumni, and Jean M. Spence is serving as the committee’s staff representative.

Linda Wykoff of the Provost’s office will staff the committee.

-Peter Hart

Filed under: Feature,Volume 37 Issue 3

Leave a Reply