Skip to Navigation
University of Pittsburgh
Print This Page Print this pages

April 29, 1999

Hershey re-elected University Senate president

Hershey re-elected University Senate president

Nathan Hershey has been re-elected president of the University Senate.

He will begin his second consecutive one-year term on July 1. Hershey ran against education professor Sean Hughes.

Elected as vice president for 1999-2000 was Carol K. Redmond, who outpolled incumbent Debora A. Rougeux of the University Library System (ULS).

The new Senate secretary will be Arlene W. Caggiula, who ran against Marianne Kasica of ULS.

It was a clean sweep for the Graduate School of Public Health: Hershey, Redmond and Kasica all are GSPH faculty members.

Elected to Faculty Assembly and Senate Council for 1999-2002 were: Gershon Mandelker, representing the Katz Graduate School of Business; Kenneth R. Etzel, dental medicine; Steven R. Lyon, education; James T. (Tom) Cain, engineering; Mary S. Lewis and Philip K. Wion, Faculty of Arts and Sciences (FAS) humanities; James G. Holland, FAS natural sciences; Herbert Chesler and Jack N. Ochs, FAS social sciences; John Mendeloff, Graduate School of Public and International Affairs; Patricia Friedman and Alice Kuller, Health Sciences Library System; Sujata Banerjee and Roger R. Flynn, School of Information Sciences; Teresa Kissane Brostoff, law; Rosemary L. Hoffman, nursing; Balwant N. Dixit and Robert B. Gibbs, pharmacy; Roger S. Day, GSPH; and Jane Mazzoni-Maddigan, School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences.

No new members were elected for medicine, social work and ULS because those units already have their allotment of members for next year. Regional campuses hold their own elections for Faculty Assembly.

New members serve the first year of their three-year terms on Faculty Assembly. During their second and third years, they serve on both the faculty-only Assembly and on Senate Council, which includes faculty, staff, students and administrators.

Of 3,258 ballots mailed in this spring's election, 934 were returned. The 29 percent return rate was slightly lower than the 31 percent rates for the last two years' elections.

University Senate bylaws forbid public release of vote counts for individual candidates. That way, faculty are encouraged to run without fear of embarrassment should they fail to get many votes, said Senate office director Fran Czak.

— Bruce Steele

Leave a Reply