Skip to Navigation
University of Pittsburgh
Print This Page Print this pages

April 17, 1997

Senate election features

The race for University Senate president this year features three long-time Pitt professors who represent all of the Senate's academic divisions: the Faculty of Arts and Sciences (FAS), the professional schools and the Health Sciences.

Keith A. McDuffie, a professor in the FAS Hispanic languages and literatures department, is running for a third consecutive one-year term as president. Running against him are John C. Camillus, who holds the Donald R. Beall Chair in Strategic Management in the Katz Graduate School of Business, and Gordon K. MacLeod, professor of health services administration in the Graduate School of Public Health (GSPH).

For vice president, incumbent Nathan Hershey, a GSPH professor of health law with a joint appointment in the Katz school, is running against James T. Cobb Jr., associate professor of chemical engineering in the School of Engineering.

Secretary Debora A. Rougeux, a University Library System librarian, is running for re-election against Patricia S. Kolar, director of field education and professor, School of Social Work.

The following faculty members are running for three-year terms on Faculty Assembly (there are five vacancies within each division): FAS candidates – Yves Citton, Lee Gutkind, Sheldon Lu and Christina Paulston (humanities); Celia Brownell, Richard Butera, Donald DeFranco and Liberty Pyros (natural sciences); Barry Ames, Gene Gruver, Van Beck Hall and Werner Troesken (social sciences).

Professional school candidates – Mahmoud El Nokali (engineering), Mark Ginsburg (education), John Mendeloff (Graduate School of Public and International Affairs), Badie Morsi (engineering), Maureen K. Porter (education), Harold Scott (Graduate School of Public and International Affairs), Stella Smetanka (law), Tracy Soska (social work), Katherine Thomes (University Library System) and Thomas Wall (University Library System).

Health sciences candidates – Adedayo Adedoyin (pharmacy), Steven Belle (public health), Nicholas Bircher (medicine), Robert Hardesty (medicine), Robert Kelly (medicine), Aldo Londino (medicine), Wesley Rohrer (School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences), Elizabeth Schlenk (nursing), Valerie Stewart (nursing), Robert Weyant (dental medicine) and Thomas Zullo (dental medicine).

Ballots will be mailed to faculty next week. The deadline for returning ballots will be May 8, according to Fran Czak, director of the Office of the University Senate.

Regional campus faculty will receive ballots for officers but not Faculty Assembly.

Under Senate bylaws, faculty are elected to three-year terms on Faculty Assembly. After the first year, elected faculty automatically become members of both Faculty Assembly, made up exclusively of faculty, and Senate Council, which also includes staff, student and administrative representatives.

– Bruce Steele

Leave a Reply