Skip to Navigation
University of Pittsburgh
Print This Page Print this pages

July 10, 1997

Connolly re-elected head of board

The Board of Trustees re- elected J. W. Connolly to a third consecutive one-year term as chairperson. Connolly, retired senior vice president of the H.J. Heinz Co., has chaired Pitt's board since June 1995.

The board also elected seven new members, re-elected six whose terms were expiring and changed one trustee's designation.

In addition, the board elected and re-elected members of the University of Pittsburgh Trust board, the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center System board of directors and the joint board of Presbyterian University and Shadyside hospitals.

Suzanne W. Broadhurst, director of corporate giving for Eat 'N Park Restaurants, Inc. was elected a term trustee for the 1996-2000 class. Re-elected as term trustees for 1997-2001 were Earl F. Hord, managing general partner, Keystone Minority Capital Fund; Thomas Marshall, retired chairman and CEO, Aristech Chemical Corp.; and Thomas H. O'Brien, chairman and CEO, PNC Bank Corp. The board changed the status of Thomas J. Usher, USX Corp. chairman and CEO, from a special trustee to a term trustee for the 1994-98 class.

Elected as special trustees were Ronald P. Carnevali Jr., attorney, Spence, Custer, Saylor, Wolfe & Rose; George A. Davidson Jr., chairman and CEO, Consolidated Natural Gas Co.; William F. Higie, managing director, The Glendorn Foundation (all elected to the 1995-99 class); William E. Strickland Jr., founder and executive director, Manchester Craftsmen's Guild, and president and CEO of Bidwell Training Center, Inc. (1997-2000 class). Re-elected to the 1997-2000 class of special trustees were Heinrich J. Bonnenberg, CEO of Beteiligungs-Management-Gesellschaft Berlin mbH; Karen S. Fisher, general counsel, Prospective Payment Assessment Commission; and Alfred L. Moye, director of university affairs, Hewlett-Packard Co.

David B. Fawcett Jr., partner, Dickie, McCamey & Chilcote, and J. Roger Glunt, president, Glunt Development Co., Inc., were elected alumni trustees.

Term/alumni trustees have full voting rights; special trustees can vote only on committees.

Elected to the Pitt board's executive committee for one year terms ending next June were E. Jeanne Gleason, executive director, Pennsylvania Rural Arts Alliance, and Evans Rose Jr., director and senior partner, Cohen & Grigsby, P.C. Re-elected to the executive committee, likewise for one-year terms, were Thomas G. Bigley, retired managing partner, Ernst & Young, and chairperson of the trustees' athletics committee; institutional advancement committee chairperson Suzanne W. Broadhurst; George A. Davidson Jr.; Pennsylvania Attorney General D. Michael Fisher; and investment committee chairperson Malcolm M. Prine.

Re-elected as a trustee of the University of Pittsburgh Trust for 1997-2001 was Marvin S. Lieber, partner, Lieber, Lieber & Tarantine.

Trustees elected J.W. Connolly as first vice chairperson of the board of the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center System (UPMCS). Re-elected as UPMCS directors for the 1995-98 class were Wendell Freeland, senior partner, Freeland & Kronz; and Reginald B. Young, deputy director of fiscal operations for Children & Youth Services of Allegheny County. Re-elected for the 1996-99 class were Karen S. Fisher; Richard L. Fischer, executive vice president — chairman's counsel, Aluminum Company of America; Pittsburgh Steelers president Daniel M. Rooney; business consultant Farrell Rubenstein; and Thomas J. Usher. Newly elected UPMCS directors for 1997-2000 were Richard L. Baron, professor and chairperson of radiology in Pitt's medical school; Jeffrey S. Blum, chairman of the tax law group of Klett Lieber Rooney & Schorling, P.C.; Ralph A. Falbo Jr., president of Ralph A. Falbo, Inc.; medical school interim dean George K. Michalopoulos; and James C. Roddey, managing general partner, Allegheny Media.

Michalopoulos also was elected to the UPMCS executive committee. Re-elected to the committee were Richard L. Fischer, Chancellor Mark Nordenberg and Thomas Detre, Pitt senior vice chancellor for Health Sciences. Detre will be succeeded on the committee by the new senior vice chancellor when he or she is appointed.

J.W. Connolly was elected second vice chairperson of the joint board of directors of Presbyterian University Hospital and Shadyside Hospital. Re-elected as directors were David M. Roderick, retired USX Corp. chairman, and Reginald B. Young.

Re-elected to the joint board for the 1996-99 class were Richard L. Fischer, Farrell Rubenstein and Thomas J. Usher. Richard L. Baron and George K. Michalopoulos were elected for 1997-2000.

— Bruce Steele

Leave a Reply