Skip to Navigation
University of Pittsburgh
Print This Page Print this pages

July 24, 1997


The Hip Society of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons presented the 1997 John Charnley Award to Arun S. Shanbhag, assistant professor of orthopaedic surgery, mechanical engineering and bioengineering. Shanbhag's research on osteolysis in a canine total hip arthroplasty model was performed at Pitt's Musculoskeletal Research Center with Carl Hasselman and Harry Rubash. Shanbhag and his colleagues developed oseolysis in a canine model and then inhibited it in other dogs with the use of oral bisphosphonate. Anthony J. DeArdo, professor of materials science and engineering, received the 1997 E. C. Bain Award from the Pittsburgh Chapter of ASM International. The award is given annually in recognition of outstanding contributions to the metallurgical and materials professions.


Bopaya Bidanda, associate professor of industrial engineering, was appointed editor of the Proceedings of the Industrial Engineering Research Conference. This conference is the national forum for presenting industrial engineering research.


Frederick G. Pohland received special recognition for service on the Environmental Engineering Committee of the EPA Science Advisory Board from Administrator Carol Browner. He also has been appointed to the Committee on Environmental Management Technologies, Subcommittee on Subsurface Contaminants, of the National Research Council Board on Radioactive Waste Management. McGraw-Hill has appointed Byron Gottfried, professor of industrial engineering, as consulting editor for a forthcoming series of books intended for the freshman engineering market. The books will cover a wide spectrum of topics and are intended to support the curricula used in various colleges and universities for introductory freshman-level courses. Many of the books will be written as modules, varying length, so that they can be combined with other titles and customized to accommodate individual needs. Several titles will be available this summer, with additional titles coming out in 1998.


Two University of Pittsburgh Medical Center (UPMC) physicians have been recognized for their career achievements.

L. Dade Lunsford received the William S. McEllroy Award for his exceptional residency training at UPMC. Lunsford is Lars Leksall professor of neurological surgery at UPMC and holds secondary appointments in radiology and radiation oncology. He also serves as vice chairman of neurological surgery and chief of neurological surgery at UPMC.

The McEllroy award is presented annually by the Pitt Medical Alumni Association to a non-alumnus who demonstrates outstanding initiative in residency training at the UPMC.

Arthur Feldman earned the 1997 Rolex Achievement Award for demonstrating excellence in his career. Feldman is the Harry S. Tack professor of medicine, chief of cardiology and professor of cell biology and physiology. He also directs the University of Pittsburgh Heart Institute at UPMC.

The Rolex Achievement Awards are administered in cooperation with The Lacrosse Foundation, The Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association and the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association. The awards were created by Rolex to pay tribute to those who were participants in collegiate lacrosse and have achieved excellence in their chosen careers. E. J. Borghetti, sports information director at Carnegie Mellon University, has been named an assistant director of athletic media relations by Athletic Director Steve Pederson. Borghetti replaced former Pittsburgh Assistant Sports Information Director Sam Sciullo, who resigned his position to launch his own publishing company and produce a new magazine titled "Inside Panther Sports," which will be devoted to Pittsburgh Panther sports. At Carnegie Mellon, Borghetti oversaw the publicity efforts for the Tartans' 17 sports teams. His 1996 football program was voted "Best in the Nation" by the College Sports Information Directors of America.

Leave a Reply