Skip to Navigation
University of Pittsburgh
Print This Page Print this pages

December 7, 2006

Shore-Tobias Award created

The University Senate anti-discriminatory policies committee will sponsor a new annual award to honor significant contributions in identifying and rectifying discriminatory polices or practices at Pitt.

The Shore-Tobias Award for Action Against Discrimination was named in honor of the contributions of two long-time Pitt faculty members, Barbara K. Shore and the late Richard C. Tobias.

Shore is professor emerita in the School of Social Work and a three-term Senate past president. English department faculty member Tobias, who died in September, also was a three-term Senate president and chaired the anti-discriminatory policies committee in 1996-97 and in 2001-04. (See Sept. 14 University Times obituary.)

The new award was announced by Kathleen Blee, secretary of the committee, at the Nov. 28 Faculty Assembly meeting.

The award will be presented to an outstanding Pitt faculty member, staff member, student, student group or program. Nominations, including self-nominations, are due to the Senate office (1234 CL; 4-6505) by Feb. 15. Nominations should include the name, campus address and position of the person (or group or program); a 2-3 page description of the contributions that merit the nomination, and relevant supporting material. The winner will be announced in April.

—Peter Hart

Filed under: Feature,Volume 39 Issue 8

Leave a Reply