Skip to Navigation
University of Pittsburgh
Print This Page Print this pages

May 3, 2007

Baker re-elected Senate president

Winners of the recent University Senate elections were announced at the May 1 Faculty Assembly meeting. Senate officers serve one-year terms that begin July 1.

John J. Baker, associate professor, Department of Microbiology-Biochemistry, School of Dental Medicine, was re-elected president. Catherine Greeno, associate professor, School of Social Work, was elected vice president, and Lisa Marie Bernardo, associate professor, health and community systems, School of Nursing, was elected secretary.

For the first time the election was conducted via electronic ballot.

Senate elections committee chair Irene Frieze reported that the election response rate was 23 percent, the same as last year’s response.

Frieze asked that feedback from faculty on the e-balloting process be sent to her via email at or to the Senate office at

Also announced at the May 1 Assembly meeting were newly elected members to Faculty Assembly for 2007-2010.

Faculty Assembly members serve the first year of their three-year terms on the Assembly; during their second and third years, they serve on both the faculty-only Assembly and on Senate Council, which includes faculty, staff, students and administrators.

The following were elected to Faculty Assembly:

School of Arts and Sciences

• Humanities: Alan Juffs, linguistics; Claire Bradin Siskin, linguistics.

• Natural Sciences: Robert P. Daley, computer science; William Saunders, biological sciences.

• Social Sciences: Lisa D. Brush, sociology.

Professional schools

• Education: Jere D. Gallagher.

• Engineering: William S. Slaughter.

• Social Work: Helen Petracchi.

• University Library System: Thomas Twiss.

Schools of the Health Sciences

• Dental Medicine: Steve Wendell.

• Health and Rehabilitation Sciences: Samuel Robert Seitz.

• Health Sciences Library System: Linda Hartman.

• Nursing: Eileen Chasens.

• Pharmacy: Susan J. Skledar.

• Public Health: Wesley M. Rohrer.

According to Lori Molinaro, director of the University Senate office, the Graduate School of Public and International Affairs and the School of Medicine need run-off elections to break candidate ties. The two schools are deciding when to hold the run-off elections to determine Assembly winners, she said.

Voting for the 15 standing Senate committee members continues through May 15. The elected members, voted on by Faculty Assembly members, will be published in the May 17 University Times.

—Peter Hart

Leave a Reply