Skip to Navigation
University of Pittsburgh
Print This Page Print this pages

May 3, 2007

Regionals elect faculty leaders

Election season at Pitt’s regional campuses has brought some new faces to faculty government for 2007-2008.

Elections at Pitt-Titusville are not yet complete, but new officers and committee members have been named at Pitt’s other regional campuses.


At Pitt-Bradford, the new Faculty Senate Council vice president is criminal justice professor Tony Gaskew. Stephen Robar continues as council president and Isabelle Champlin continues as secretary.

Committee members officially take office Aug. 23 at the first council meeting of the academic year. Council representatives for the new term are: Mark Kelley, biological and health sciences; Richard Knott, management and education; Warren Fass, behavioral and social sciences; ‘BioDun Ogundayo, communication and the arts; Trish Morris, Academic Support Center; John Slimick, physical and computational sciences.


At Pitt-Greensburg, new officers take their positions this month.

UPG Senate president is chemistry professor Mark Stauffer. English professor Stephen Murabito has been elected vice president. English professor Martha Koehler has been re-elected Senate secretary.

Koehler, Melissa Marks and Diane Cheek have been elected to the campus Senate’s standing educational planning and policies committee. Faculty welfare committee electees are Murabito, Chris Marquette and Gary Hart. Hart also was elected to the facilities committee.

Elected to the instructional technology committee were Amber McAlister and Jackie Horrall. Larry Whatule, Ewa Rudnicka and Mike Lucci were elected to the development and public relations committee and Andy Franz was elected to the planning and budgeting committee.

The sole change to UPG’s representation to the University Senate is that Paul S. Adams of political science will replace Joel Sabadasz on the University Senate committee for elections.


At Pitt-Johnstown, officers are: John Thompson, president; Karen Lee, vice president, and Reece Rahman, secretary. Their terms took effect with the April UPJ Faculty Council meeting.

Others newly elected are Sharon Bertsch, chair of the academic integrity review board; Gregory Faires, vice chair of the UPJ faculty status committee, and Jean James, at-large representative to the UPJ Faculty Council.

—Kimberly K. Barlow

Leave a Reply