Skip to Navigation
University of Pittsburgh
Print This Page Print this pages

September 13, 2007


The Joseph M. Katz Graduate School of Business and the College of Business Administration (CBA) recently announced a number of awards.

Katz and CBA students annually evaluate their teachers and vote for the faculty member who has made the most significant impact on their business education.

The 2007 Teaching Award winners for the MBA program were:

• Charles Kennedy, visiting lecturer, Outstanding Teacher of the Year (MBA program);

• Chris Kemerer, David M. Roderick Professor of Information Systems and professor of business administration, Outstanding Teacher of the Year (EMBA Pittsburgh);

• Prakash Mirchandani, professor of business administration, Outstanding Teacher of the Year (EMBA Sao Paulo), and

• Donald Moser, professor of business administration, Outstanding Teacher of the Year (EMBA Prague).

The CBA Teacher of the Year Award winner is Robert J. Gilbert, associate professor of business administration.

The CBA Distinguished Teaching Award winners are Madeleine J. Carlin, associate professor of business administration; Daniel Dennehy, lecturer in business administration; Neil Fogarty, lecturer in business administration; Jocelyn Kauffunger, clinical assistant professor of accounting; Ray Jones, assistant professor of business administration and coordinator, certificate program in leadership and ethics; Moser; Claire Thornburgh, lecturer in business administration, and Frederick W. Winter, professor of business administration and dean emeritus.


Kamuran A. Kadipasaoglu, a specialist in cardiac bioengineering, has been appointed executive director of cardiac surgery research for UPMC’s Heart, Lung and Esophageal Surgery Institute (HLESI), Division of Cardiac Surgery.

He also will hold dual academic appointments of visiting research professor in the departments of surgery at the School of Medicine and bioengineering at the School of Engineering.

Kadipasaoglu specializes in the development of artificial cardiac prostheses and methods of mechanical cardiac support. In addition to continuing his research, he will teach and advise bioengineering students and oversee cardiac research at HLESI.

Prior to his recent arrival, Kadipasaoglu worked as assistant director of cardiovascular surgery research at the Texas Heart Institute in Houston, where he helped develop mechanical circulatory assist devices, heart valves and stents. He also was adjunct professor of bioengineering in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Houston.

The Istanbul native also is a scholar of Turkish art and Anatolian history, and occasionally lectures on the topic.


Judith Klein-Seetharaman, assistant professor in structural biology at the School of Medicine, is the recipient of the Biophysical Society’s 2008 Oakley Dayhoff Award.

The award is designed for female, untenured scientists working in computational biology, which is the merging of biology and computer science.

Klein-Seetharaman most recently collaborated on a membrane receptor project with computer scientists at Carnegie Mellon.

She also has won awards from the National Science Foundation and the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation for her work in researching membrane receptors.


The American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) has announced the results of the 2006-2007 fellowship competition.

This year ACLS awarded fellowships totaling $8,382,491 to 232 U.S.-based scholars.

The following members of Pitt’s School of Arts and Sciences won ACLS fellowships:

• Cian Dorr, assistant professor of philosophy. Dorr’s areas of specialization are metaphysics and philosophy of language. He also is interested in philosophy of mind, epistemology, metaethics and Hume.

• Renate Blumenfeld-Kosinski, professor of French and director of Graduate Studies in French. Blumenfeld-Kosinski’s scholarship focuses on French medieval literature and culture, in particular Christine de Pizan; allegorical poetry; female spirituality, and church history.

•Clayton D. Brown, a graduate student in history. Brown won an Andrew W. Mellon Foundation/ACLS early career fellowship program dissertation completion fellowship.

Brown’s PhD research topic is “Making the Majority: Defining Han Identity in Chinese Ethnology and Archaeology.” His fields of research include modern China, East Asia, nationalism and the history of anthropology.

ACLS is a private non-profit federation of 69 national scholarly organizations. Its mission is “the advancement of humanistic studies in all fields of learning in the humanities and the social sciences and the maintenance and strengthening of relations among the national societies devoted to such studies.”


The People of the Times column features recent news on faculty and staff, including awards and other honors, accomplishments and administrative appointments.

We welcome submissions from all areas of the University. Send information via email to:, by fax at 412/624-4579 or by campus mail to 308 Bellefield Hall.

For submission guidelines, visit online.

Leave a Reply