Skip to Navigation
University of Pittsburgh
Print This Page Print this pages

May 15, 2008

Faculty elected to Senate committees

Winners of seats on the 15 University Senate standing committees were announced this week. Voting by members of Faculty Assembly for the three open positions on each committee concluded May 9.

Winners are:

• Admissions and student aid: Vicky Hoffman, business; Consuella Lewis, education; Tony Novosel, history.

• Anti-discriminatory policies: Deborah Brake, law; Paolo Palmieri, history and philosophy of science; Cindy Popovich, psychology.

• Athletics: Jean Ann Croft, University Library System (ULS); Donna Nativio, nursing; Dennis Swanson, pharmacy.

• Benefits and welfare: Alan Meisel, law; Michael Pinsky, medicine; Linda Rinaman, neuroscience.

• Budget policies: Christopher J. Marquette, behavioral science, Greensburg; Paula Sherwood, nursing; Sue Skledar, pharmacy.

• Bylaws and procedures: James Cassaro, ULS; Marilyn Davies, nursing; Joe Grabowski, chemistry.

• Commonwealth relations: Carl Fertman, education; Kimberly Latta, English; Stella Smetanka, law.

• Community relations: Denise Chisholm, health and rehabilitation sciences; Marian Hampton, ULS; Susan Wieczorek, communication, Johnstown.

• Computer usage: Vincent Arena, public health; Alexandros Labrinidis, computer science; Luis Vargas, business.

• Educational policies: Judith Erlen, nursing; Ethan Pullman, ULS; Charlene Trovato, education.

• Library: Lou Berry, education; Heidi Donovan, nursing; Andrew Strathern, anthropology.

• Plant utilization and planning: Paul Munro, information sciences; Susanne Leers, law; Susan Neuman, ULS.

• Student affairs: Laura Fonzi, education; Kathy Magdic, nursing; Patricia Tuite, nursing.

• Tenure and academic freedom: Carey Balaban, medicine; Sean Hughes, education; Irina Livezeanu, history.

• University Press: Faith Adiele, English; William Chase, history; Seymour Drescher, history.

Leave a Reply