Skip to Navigation
University of Pittsburgh
Print This Page Print this pages

March 5, 2009


Faculty in the Schools of the Health Sciences recently won awards or received accolades. They include:

• Charles F. Reynolds, professor of psychiatry, neurology and neuroscience; senior associate dean of the School of Medicine, and professor of behavioral and community health sciences at the Graduate School of Public Health has been elected to a one-year term as the president of the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention. This person serves as an officer on the foundation’s board of directors.

• Transplant pioneer Thomas E. Starzl, distinguished service professor of surgery at Pitt’s School of Medicine and director emeritus of the Thomas E. Starzl Transplantation Institute, will be honored with one of two lifetime achievement awards, the National Physician of the Year Awards, from Castle Connolly Medical Ltd., whose mission is to help consumers find the best health care in America.

• Donald B. DeFranco, professor and vice chair for education in the Department of Pharmacology and Chemical Biology in the School of Medicine, has started a five-year term as the editor-in-chief of Molecular Endocrinology.

• Raman Venkataramanan, professor of pharmaceutical sciences in the School of Pharmacy, received the 2009 Bristol-Myers Squibb Mentorship in Clinical Pharmacology award from the American College of Clinical Pharmacology. This bi-yearly award recognizes sustained excellence in clinical pharmacology mentorship in an academic, regulatory and/or industrial setting.

• Gwendolyn Sowa, assistant professor in the medical school’s Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, has received the 2009 Young Academician Award from the Association of Academic Physiatrists.

Sowa is the third faculty member from her department to win this national award.


The People of the Times column features recent news on faculty and staff, including awards and other honors, accomplishments and administrative appointments.

We welcome submissions from all areas of the University. Send information via email to:, by fax at 412/624-4579 or by campus mail to 308 Bellefield Hall.

For submission guidelines, visit online.

Leave a Reply