Skip to Navigation
University of Pittsburgh
Print This Page Print this pages

April 28, 2005

Innovation award winners chosen

The sixth annual Innovation in Education Awards, coordinated by the Provost’s Advisory Council on Instructional Excellence, have been announced.

Ten faculty projects focusing on innovative teaching approaches that can be adapted to other settings received grants from the Provost’s office totaling $118,000.

Winners and the titles of their projects are:

• Russell J. Clark, physics and astronomy: “Digital Video Demonstrations for Introducing Physics Lab Experiments.”

• Donna R. Gabaccia and Evelyn Rawski, both of history: “Planning an Introductory Global History Course.”

• Daqing He, information sciences: “Build a Digital Library for Learning Digital Libraries.”

• Charles E. Jones, geology and planetary science: “A Revision of Geology Recitations Using Inquiry-Based, Group-Learning Exercises.”

• Dean E. Nelson, mathematics, Pitt-Greensburg: “Teaching Probability Theory as a Lab With Simulation and Symbolic Computation.”

• Brian A. Primack, medicine: “Improving Medical Students’ Cultural Competency Through Developing Community Patient Education Materials: Health Literacy Meets Social Marketing.”

• Bruce W. Robart, biology, and Kimberly Ziance, biology lab, both of Pitt-Johnstown: “Integrating Digital Documentation Into the General Biology Laboratory Curriculum.”

• Margaret Quinn Rosenzweig, nursing: “Communication Skills for Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Students.”

• Gary Tabas, medicine: “Web-based Teaching Modules for Ambulatory Education.”

• Valerie J.M. Watzlaf, health and rehabilitation sciences: “An On-Line Interdisciplinary Course on Electronic Health Record Technology.”

Leave a Reply