Skip to Navigation
University of Pittsburgh
Print This Page Print this pages

April 30, 2009

Pinsky wins Senate presidency

Michael R. Pinsky of the School of Medicine has won the election for president of the University Senate. Pinsky is professor of critical care medicine, bioengineering, translational and clinical research, cardiovascular diseases and anesthesiology. He is a former Senate vice president.

Susan B. Hansen, professor of political science, was re-elected vice president, and Lisa Marie Bernardo, associate professor, health and community systems, School of Nursing, was re-elected for a third term as secretary.

Winners of the recent officer elections were announced this week by the Senate office. Senate officers serve one-year terms that begin July 1.

Also announced were newly elected members to Faculty Assembly for 2009-2012. Assembly members serve the first year of their three-year terms on the Assembly; during their second and third years, they serve on both the faculty-only Assembly and on Senate Council, which includes faculty, staff, students and administrators.

The following faculty were elected to Faculty Assembly:

School of Arts and Sciences
• Humanities: Marcia Landy, English.
• Natural sciences: Chandralekha Singh, physics and astronomy; Marc Sommer, neuroscience.
• Social sciences: Martha Chaiklin, history; Janelle Greenberg, history.

Professional schools
• Business: Jay Sukits.
• Education: Amy Otto.
• Engineering: Patrick Smolinski.
• Information sciences: Michael Spring.
• Law: Nancy Burkoff.
• Social work: Keith Caldwell.
• University Library System: Ed Galloway.

Schools of the Health Sciences
• Medicine: Lisa Pan; Tom Smitherman; Adele Towers.
• Public health: Joe Costantino.

There were no openings for new Assembly members from dental medicine, nursing, pharmacy, public and international affairs or the Health Sciences Library System.

Voting for membership on the Senate’s 15 standing committees will be held May 4-15. For the committee slate see related story this issue.

—Peter Hart

Leave a Reply