Skip to Navigation
University of Pittsburgh
Print This Page Print this pages

May 28, 2009

Faculty elected to Senate committees

Winners of the election for seats on the 15 University Senate standing committees have been announced. Voting by Faculty Assembly members for three open slots on each committee concluded May 15. Members are elected for three-year terms beginning July 1.

The winners are:

• Admissions and student aid:
Linda Dudjak, nursing;
Robin Kear, University Library System (ULS);
Julius Kitutu, nursing.

• Anti-discriminatory policies:
Mark Lynn Anderson, English (A&S);
Rebecca Harmon, health and rehabilitation sciences (SHRS);
Bruce Venarde, history (A&S).

• Athletics:
David Brienza, SHRS;
Toby Chapman, chemistry (A&S);
Patrick Smolinski, engineering.

• Benefits and welfare:
Sandra Founds, nursing;
Lara Putnam, history (A&S);
Robert Robertson, education.

• Budget policies:
John Baker, dental medicine;
Jim Cassing, economics (A&S);
Barbara Warnick, communication (A&S).

• Bylaws and procedures:
Vernon Gay, medicine;
Kurt Summersgill, dental medicine;
Alexandre Vieira, dental medicine.

• Commonwealth relations:
Rodger Beatty, GSPH;
Kim Coley, pharmacy;
Nancy Sussman, GSPH.

• Community relations:
Sabina Deitrick, public and international affairs;
Robert Edwards, medicine;
Tracy Soska, social work.

• Computer usage:
Frank Beatrous, mathematics (A&S);
Mike Bolam, ULS;
Susan Sereika, nursing.

• Educational policies:
John Close, dental medicine;
Bonnie Falcione, pharmacy;
Beverly Gaddy, Greensburg.

• Library:
Annette Dabbs, nursing;
Rhobert Evans, GSPH;
Dennis Looney, French and Italian (A&S).

• Plant utilization and planning:
Irene Frieze, psychology (A&S);
Tracey Olanyk, ULS;
Michael Sean Ramsey, geology and planetary science (A&S).

• Student affairs:
Danielle Colbert-Lewis, ULS;
Otto Graf, education;
Margaret Hannan, nursing.

• Tenure and academic freedom:
Barry Gold, pharmacy;
Linda Penkower, religious studies (A&S);
Joshua Rubin, medicine.

• University Press:
John Earman, history and philosophy of science (A&S);
Edward Muller, history (A&S);
Michael West, English (A&S).

Leave a Reply