Ceremony will honor 2020 and 2021 doctoral mentoring award winners

The 2020 and 2021 winners of the Provost’s Award for Excellence in Doctoral Mentoring will be honored during an online ceremony on March 31.

The awards recognize outstanding mentoring by current, active graduate faculty members

who supervise students pursuing Ph.D. degrees or other research doctoral degrees and who have served as a primary mentor for five or more doctoral students. Up to four awards are made each year. Each awardee receives a $2,500 cash prize.

No ceremony was held last year because of the pandemic. This year’s program will begin at 4 p.m. March 31. Register to attend the awards ceremony.

The 2021 Doctoral Mentoring award recipients:

  • Tia-Lynn Ashman, professor of Ecology and Evolution, Biological Sciences, Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences

  • Robert Batterman, professor of Philosophy and History and Philosophy of Science, Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences

  • Yvette Conley, professor, vice chair for research and Ph.D. program director, School of Nursing, Health Promotion and Development

  • Martin Weiss, professor of Informatics and Networked Systems, School of Computing and Information, and associate director, Center for Governance and Markets, GSPIA

The 2020 award recipients:

  • Diane Litman, professor of Computer Science, School of Computing and Information, and senior scientist, Learning Research and Development Center

  • Chandralekha Singh, professor of Physics & Astronomy, and founding director, Discipline-based Science Education Research Center (dB-SERC), Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences

  • Randall Walsh, professor of Economics, Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences