Natural sciences faculty recognized with dB-SERC Leader Award

Eighteen faculty members in the natural sciences departments in the Dietrich School of Arts & Sciences were recently awarded the Discipline-based Science Education Research (dB-SERC) Leader Award.

This yearly award recognizes and celebrates the contributions of the dB-SERC faculty learning community and their active participation in many dB-SERC events during the last academic year. These faculty members have played a key role in the dB-SERC weekly lunch discussions focusing on innovative approaches to teaching and learning in the natural sciences.

The dB-SERC promotes and supports evidence-based approaches to teaching and learning in the natural sciences. In addition to workshops and special events, the dB-SERC faculty learning community gives the faculty members opportunity to share their course transformation projects involving evidence-based approaches. More information about dB-SERC can be found here.

2020-2021 dB-SERC Leader award winners:

Danielle Andrews-Brown, geology and environmental science

Debra Artim, neuroscience

Meghan Bechman, biological sciences

Peter Bell, chemistry

Russell Clark, physics and astronomy

Robert Devaty, physics and astronomy

Jennifer Ganger, psychology

Burhan Gharaibeh, biological sciences

Joe Grabowski, chemistry

Kirill Kiselyov, biological sciences

Barbara Kucinski, psychology

Lingfeng (Kitty) Liu, chemistry

David Nero, physics and astronomy

Tim Tseng, chemistry

Eugene Wagner, chemistry

Jessica Wandelt, biological sciences

Michelle Ward, chemistry

Kyle Whitinghill, geology and environmental science