Political science's Kanthak elected Senate vice president

Elections for the next slate of University Senate leaders have wrapped up.

Kris Kanthak on blue backgroundThe new officers will start on July 1. Robin Kear was elected to be the new Senate president, and after a runoff, Kris Kanthak, a professor of political science, will become the new vice president.

There was a slight delay in the announcement of the runoff results because Kanthak was injured when she was struck by a car while she was walking her dog. Outgoing Senate President Chris Bonneau said during the May 12 Faculty Assembly meeting that she is no longer at the hospital, but will have to undergo physical therapy.

Gosia Fort will remain the secretary of the Senate. Bonneau will transition into the role of immediate past president.

Senate committee election winners also will begin their terms on July 1. A majority of the election winners will serve a three-year term.

Here are the committee election winners:

Athletics: Amy Aggelou, Dan McMillan and Sam Pittman

Benefits & Welfare: Anjali Sachdeva, Laura Lovett and Alexander Spiess

Budget Policies: Jen Lee, Emily Murphy and Gong Tang

Bylaws & Procedures: Sheila Alexander, Amy Flick and Candice Damiani

Community Relations: Jennifer Cousins, David Givens and Jamie Hammond

Computing & Information: Steve Belle, Arif Jamal, Stephen Quigley and Ken Fish (two-year term)

Educational Policies: Arash Mahboobin (two-year term), Helen Petracchi, Michelle Schein and Dawn McCormick

EIADAC: Susan Graff, Ellen Smith and Zuzana Swigonova

Faculty Affairs: Lorraine Denman, Tom Songer and Yolanda Covington-Ward

Governmental Relations: Robin Brooks, Claudia Kreggs-Byer and Geoff Wood

Library: Elizabeth Reich, Charlotte Johnson and Diana Khoi Nguyen

Plant Utilization & Planning: Dave Beck, Viktoria Harms and David Salcido

Research: Martica Hall (one-year term), Amit Sethi, Dana Tudorascu and Katherine Wood

Student Admissions, Aid and Affairs: Thottala Jayaraman, Shannon Reed and Sue Skledar

Tenure & Academic Freedom: Carey Balaban, Elizabeth Mulvaney and Don Ulin

— Donovan Harrell


Have a story idea or news to share? Share it with the University Times.

Follow the University Times on Twitter and Facebook.