Staff Council elects officers using new extended voting


Staff Council’s new election methods — allowing candidates to run for multiple offices, which forced isolated elections for each office in turn, beginning with the presidency — was applauded at the organization’s June 19 meeting, as it went off without a hitch.

There was 85 percent participation for this members-only ballot, and two of the officers were elected by one-vote margins.

The group’s new executive officers, each serving two-year terms beginning July 1, are:

President: Incumbent Andy Stephany, associate administrator, Department of Medicine 

Executive vice president: Kenny Doty, information technology, Swanson School of Engineering

Vice president, finance: Incumbent Tammeka Banks, department administrator, Office of Research

Vice president, public relations: Amy Kleebank, art director, Office of University Communications

Parliamentarian: Incumbent Debbie Whitfield, assistant patient services manager, School of Dental Medicine

Marty Levine is a staff writer for the University Times. Reach him at or 412-758-4859.