Skip to Navigation
University of Pittsburgh
Print This Page Print this pages

May 2, 2013

Spring elected Senate president


Michael Spring

Michael Spring, an associate professor in the School of Information Sciences, has defeated incumbent Thomas C. Smitherman, a professor in the Department of Medicine, School of Medicine, in the race for University Senate president.

In the race for vice president, Irene Frieze, a professor in the Department of Psychology, Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences, defeated incumbent James T. Becker, professor of psychiatry, psychology and neurology in the Department of Psychiatry, School of Medicine.

Incumbent secretary Linda Frank, an associate professor in the Department of Infectious Diseases and Microbiology, Graduate School of Public Health, will remain in office for a third consecutive term. She defeated challenger Kathleen Kelly, an assistant professor and vice chair of the Department of Physical Therapy, School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences.

Senate bylaws limit officers to three successive terms in any one office.


Voting ended April 30 for Senate officers and Faculty Assembly members. Senate officers serve one-year terms beginning July 1. Faculty Assembly members serve three-year terms, also beginning July 1. The Senate did not release vote counts or margins of victory with the election results.

Elections for Senate committees end May 6. There are three seats open on each of the 15 committees.


Newly elected members of Faculty Assembly are:

Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences

• Humanities: Marianne Novy, English; Francesca Savoia, French and Italian.

• Natural sciences: Michael Ramsey, geology; Vladimir Savinov, physics and astronomy.

• Social sciences: Michael Goodhart, political science.

Professional schools

• Education: Christina Groark.

• Engineering: Ataai Mohammad; Jeen-Shang Lin.

• Public and international affairs: Michael Kenney.

• Social work: Rachel Fusco.

• University Library System: Robin Kear.

Schools of the Health Sciences

• Dental medicine: Seth Weinberg.

• Public health: Jeanine Buchanich.

• Health and rehabilitation sciences: Debora Miller.

• Health Sciences Library System: Malgorzata Fort.

• Medicine: Lou Alarcon, Maria Kovacs, Penelope Morel.

• Nursing: Marilyn Hravnak.

• Pharmacy: Sam Poloyac.

There were no vacancies this year in business, law or information science.

—Kimberly K. Barlow

Leave a Reply