Skip to Navigation
University of Pittsburgh
Print This Page Print this pages

February 7, 2008

Staff, faculty tapped for science center awards

Pitt will be well represented at the 12th annual Carnegie Science Center awards presentation, set for May 9.

Last week, the Science Center announced this year’s winners of its Awards for Excellence, which recognize and promote outstanding science and technology achievements in western Pennsylvania.

Pitt affiliates who will receive awards are:

• Stephen F. Badylak, McGowan Institute for Regenerative Medicine, will be recognized in the award category of Advanced Materials.

• Joseph J. McCarthy and Robert S. Parker, both of chemical and petroleum engineering, and Mary Besterfield-Sacre, industrial engineering, will be recognized in the University/Post-Secondary Educator category.

• William R. Wagner of the medical school’s Department of Surgery will be honored in the Life Sciences category.

• Joe Miksch, associate editor of Pitt Med, the School of Medicine’s alumni magazine, will receive honorable mention in the Journalism category.

In addition, Kenneth Chiacchia of UPMC corporate communications will be honored in the Journalism category.

—Peter Hart

Leave a Reply