Db-SERC program honors 13 faculty members for leadership work

Thirteen faculty members in the natural sciences departments in the Dietrich School of Arts & Sciences were recently awarded the Discipline-based Science Education Research (Db-SERC) Leader Award.

This yearly award recognizes and celebrates the contributions to the Db-SERC faculty learning community and their active participation in many Db-SERC events during the past academic year.

The dB-SERC promotes and supports evidence-based approaches to teaching and learning in the natural sciences departments at the University of Pittsburgh. More information about Db-SERC can be found here.

Db-SERC Leader award winners (2017-2018 year):

  • Danielle Andrews-Brown, Geology and Environmental Science
  • Meghan Bechman, Biological Sciences
  • Sean Garrett-Roe, Chemistry
  • Joe Grabowski, Chemistry
  • Kirill Kiselyov, Biological Sciences
  • Barbara Kucinski, Psychology
  • Jim Mueller, Physics and Astronomy
  • David Nero, Physics and Astronomy
  • Kim Payne, Biological Sciences
  • Welkin Pope, Biological Sciences
  • Jackie Powell, Chemistry 
  • Katie Sinagoga, Biological Sciences
  • Kyle Whitinghill, Geology and Environmental Science

Correction: An earlier version of this article referred to Danielle Andrews-Brown as "Danielle Anderson-Brown." The article has been changed to reflect the correct spelling.